AR House 2010


Matharoo Associates
House with Balls

Gianni Botsford Architects
Casa Kike

Michael Maltzan Architecture, Inc
Pittman Dowell Residence

Boyd Cody architects
Bohermore House

Casagrande Laboratory
Chen House

Deca Architecture

Diego Arraigada Arquitecto & Johnston Marklee
View House

Li Xiaodong Atelier
Water House

Light Studi-(o)es

Marlon Blackwell Architect
PorchDog House

Paulo Henrique Durão
House in Pedrogão

Simon Conder Associates
El Ray

Takeshi Hosaka architects
Love House

TNA / Makoto Takei + Chie Nabeshima
Passage House

View entries...


Recognising innovation and excellence in house design. This award celebrates this wellspring of creativity with a major new award of £10,000 for the best one-off house.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International, Award, Open, Anonymous
Genre Housing
Country UK
RegDeadline 24 May 2010 GoogleCal iCal
24 May 2010
Eligibility Fully qualified architects. There is no age restriction.
Target Field Single family house completed within the last five years.

The private house occupies a unique position both in the history of architecture and human imagination. Beyond its core function of shelter, it is an object of fantasy, a source of delight, a talisman and a testing ground. From Corbusier to Koolhaas, the progress of modern architecture can be tracked through a succession of pioneering individual houses. It is the one commission that virtually all architects tackle at some stage in their careers and is still an important rite of passage for young designers. Regardless of scale, site, programme or budget, the house offers the potential for genuine innovation and it remains critical to the ferment and crystallisation of new architectural ideas.

AR House celebrates this wellspring of creativity with a major new award of £10,000 for the best one-off house. Entries will be judged by a distinguished international jury of Sou Fujimoto (Japan), Alberto Campo Baeza (Spain) and David Chipperfield (UK). AR Editor Catherine Slessor will be jury chair and winning schemes will be published in a special issue of The Architectural Review
From this inaugural year, we hope that AR House will grow to become the most prestigious global award of its kind for the design of a single building type.

Sou Fujimoto (Japan)
Alberto Campo Baeza (Spain)
David Chipperfield (UK)
AR Editor Catherine Slessor

At the Jury's discretion, a prize fund of £10,000 will be awarded to the overall winning entry. The Jury will also select a number of projects for commendation.

Entry Fee
£195 + VAT at 17.5% per projects

Two A2 sized boards

Submission Address
Entries should be properly packaged and clearly marked FAO Leah Stoker, Emap Inform, AR House Award, Greater London House, Hampstead Road, London NW 1 7EJ, United Kingdom.

Architecture Review

Official Website