Archi-World® Academy Award 2011/2013


We have the pleasure of announcing that the first Intermediate Prize of the Archi-World® Academy Awards 2011-2013 has been won. The winner is Hugon Kowalski with his project "Watertower for Sudan".

View entries...


This Award is a two years (2011/2013) lasting contest giving young architects and architects of tomorrow coming from the entire world the chance to present their best projects or concepts in the field of energy savings.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Students, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Environment
Country Germany
RegDeadline 30 September 2012 GoogleCal iCal
30 September 2012 (via Online)
Eligibility Students(no age limit)

Having gained significant experience in this field and interviewed many students, Archi-Europe came to the conclusion that the most significant award for students in architecture definitely is a top class traineeship in a leading architecture practice.
This is the reason why we asked all our members of the Jury, in the framework of the Archi-World® Academy Awards, to give the opportunity to the 12 winning students (all carefully evaluated by the Jury) to perform a traineeship in their practice for a minimum 4 months stay.
But Archi-World® Academy goes further! The 1000 best projects will benefit from a special online visibility on allowing the work these students to be seen by our 187.000 architect members and numerous visitors!
Each member of the jury will independently select its favourite project. The student related to that project will be invited to join the architect’s team for a traineeship period of 4 to max. 6 months. The traineeship period will be agreed between the architecture practice and the student. The student will receive the same fee as the one usually granted by the local architecture practice.

Zaha Hadid (Zaha Hadid Architects, London(UK))
F‐H Jourda (Jourda Architectes, Paris(France))
Bjarke Ingels (Bjarke Ingels Group, Copenhagen(Denmark))
J‐M Jaspers (M. & J‐M. Jaspers ‐ J. Eyers & Partners, Brussels(Belgium))
Francine Houben (Mecanoo Architecten, Delft(Netherlands))
Daniel Libeskind (Studio Daniel Libeskind, New York(USA))
Kengo Kuma (Kengo Kuma and Architects, Tokyo(Japan))
Mario Cucinella (MC A, Bologna(Italy))
Christoph Ingenhoven (Ingenhoven Architects, Düsseldorf(Germany))
Jain Bijoy (Studio Mumbai, Mumbai(India))
Ma Yansong (MAD, Beijing(China))
Andry Bokov (President Union of Architects Russia, Moscow(Russia))
* The Media/press intermediate prize: leading architecture magazine partners
* The Industrial intermediate prize: leading industrial partners

12 best projects will be selected by the Jury. Each member of the Jury will welcome a winning participant for a traineeship period of 4 to 6 months. The student will receive the same fee as the one usually granted by the local architecture practice.

Entry Fee

3 DIN A-3 panels, 1 A4 detailed technical description, 1 A4 motivation brief

The Media/press intermediate prize will be awarded in October 2011.
The Industrial intermediate prize will be awarded in October 2012.
The prestigious awarding ceremony: January 2013 during Bau 2013 Exhibition(Munich)

Past winners


Official Website