Biennial International Prize for Architecture “BARBARA CAPPOCHIN” 2011


- Magen Arquitectos / Spain
- 1+1>2 International Architecture JSC. / Vietnam Hoa Binh Hoang Thuc Hao
- Roldán + Berengué, arqts. / Spain
- studio tamassociati / Sudan
- Laboratorio di architettura / Italy

View other winners...


The Biennial International Prize for Architecture aims to heighten the awareness of the different actors in the territorial transformation process – planners, builders and customers – with the objective of promoting the quality of projects and construction, combining it with the urban and landscape context in a vision for the future as an expression of respect for the past.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Architecture
Country Italy
RegDeadline 30 June 2011 GoogleCal iCal
30 June 2011 (Must be Received)
Eligibility All
Target Field Architectural works finished between July 1, 2008 and June 30, 2011

Architecture is a sphere that incorporates environmental quality, a human dimension, the appropriate use of material and structures, and the study of building details, when it conjugates aesthetical quality, functionality and sustainability.
All too often, on the contrary, the construction of buildings is treated as a merely mercantile process instead of a social and cultural phenomenon that is based on strategic innovation and quality that responds to the needs and aspirations of the residents as being for the general good.

1.-residential commercial, managerial and mixed architecture;
2.-public architecture (educational, cultural, social-health, religious, sporting, recreational etc.);
3.-landscape architecture;
4.-interior design.

Leopoldo FREYRIE, Architect – President of the National Council of Architects, Planners and Landscapers and Conservationists (C.N.A.P.P e C.) – (Italy)
Luca Molinari, Architect – (Italy)
Doug Steidl Architect - UIA representative (U.S.A.)
Nikos Fintikakis Architect (Greece) )
Francisco Mangado Architect (Spain) )
Matti Sanaksenaho Architect (Finland)
Ben Darmer Architect - Substitute Member U.I.A. nomination (U.S.A.)

International “Barbara Cappochin” Prize: EURO 30,000
Special “Barbara Cappochin” Prize: EURO 5,000

Entry Fee

Submission Address
the Barbara Cappochin Foundation.
Administrative office: via Vegri n° 33a
35030 Selvazzano Dentro - Italy

Publication of the results: September 2011

Barbara Cappochin Foundation

Official Website