Bauhaus Museum Dessau Open international competition


Equal first places
Architects Gonzalez Hinz Zabala (Roberto González Peñalver, José Zabala Rojí, Anne Katharina Hinz), Barcelona/Spain
Landscape architect Roser Vives de Delás, Barcelona/Spain

Architects Young & Ayata (Michael Young, Kutan Ayata), New York/USA
Landscape architect Misako Murata, New York/USA

Third place
Architects Berrel Berrel Kräutler AG (Maurice Berrel), Zurich/Switzerland
Landscape architect ASP Landschaftsarchitekten AG (Florian Seibold), Zürich, Switzerland

Fourth place
Architects Ja Architecture Studio (Nima Javidi), Toronto/Canada
Landscape architects JA Architecture Studio (Behnaz Assadi), Toronto/Canada

Awards were also given to the following firms
Architects Raummanufaktur (Edin Saronjic, Alexander Scholtysek), Darmstadt/Germany
Landscape architects Franz Reschke Landschaftsarchitektur, Berlin/Germany

Architects Nussmüller Architekten ZT GmbH (Inge and Stefan Nussmüller), Graz/Austria
Landscape architect Robert Kutscha, Graz/Austria

Architects Steiner, Weißenberger Architekten (David Steiner, Karl Weißenberger), Berlin/Germany
Landscape architect Jens Henningsen, Berlin/Germany

See detail…


In occasion of the 100th Bauhaus anniversary, the Foundation Bauhaus Dessau is intending the construction of a Bauhaus Museum in Dessau.

Category Project Competition / Competition Result
Type International, Project, Open, Two-Stage
Genre Museum
Country Dessau
RegDeadline 13 April 2015 GoogleCal iCal
13 April 2015
Eligibility Architects

The planned Bauhaus Museum Dessau will for the first time provide the opportunity to present to the public for the long term the outstanding collection of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation under the best possible conservation conditions. The awarding authority expects a design proposal as a result of the competition procedure which implements the desired qualities and quantities in a functional overall concept within the specified cost and time frames and positioning the Bauhaus convincingly in a contemporary manner.

The planned site for the Bauhaus Museum Dessau is located in the City Park directly in the city centre of Dessau. As co-promoter of the competition, the City of Dessau-Roßlau, is searching for plots, that integrate the Museum building within the landscape architectural situation of the City Park, while respecting the existing qualities and uses.

The spatial program of the new Bauhaus Museum covers a total of 3,500 m2 whereby the exhibition area covers 2,100 m2. The museum and City Park should strengthen and complement each other and enrich the location as a cultural centre.

Guido Hager, Landscape architect, Zurich
Barbara Holzer, Architect, Zurich/Berlin
Regine Leibinger, Architect, Berlin
Wolfgang Lorch, Architect, Darmstadt
Jürgen Mayer H, Architect, Berlin
Ralf Niebergall, Architect, Magdeburg
Matthias Vollmer, Architect, German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety
Frank Assmann, Head of Bauhaus Dessau Foundation Construction Department
Sigrid Bias-Engels, Group leader with the State Minister for Culture and Media Affairs
Stephan Dorgerloh, Minister of Culture & Education, State of Sachsen-Anhalt
Peter Kuras, Lord Mayor of Dessau-Rosslau
Claudia Perren, Director of Bauhaus Dessau Foundation
Chris Dercon, Director of Tate Modern, London

As part of the procedure, prizes totalling 113,000 Euro plus value added tax will be awarded. The winners will be selected from among the participants in the second phase. The winner receives 37,000 Euro, the second-placed winner receives 25,000 Euro, the third-placed winner receives 17,000 Euro and the fourth-placed winner receives 11,000 Euro, plus value-added tax in each case. In addition, a further 23,000 Euro is available for honourable mentions.

Jury meeting: 3rd September 2015

Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau

Official Website