Chicago Architectural Club - Burnham Prize 2011


First Prize
Mohamed Sharif, Felix Monasakanian, Efren Soriano, and Teo Biocina from Los Angeles.

Second Prize
Srdan Nad from Ljubljana, Slovenia

Third Prize
PATH, Matt Hutchinson and Brandon Pace

Honorable Mentions
Shin Park / Keojin Jin
Charles Dome Gosrisirikul
Jason Fisher / Andrew Peters
Martin Klaeschen / Carl Ray Miller
Brian Foster


The Chicago Architectural Club is pleased to announce the 2011 Burnham Prize Competition: “McCormick Place REDUX”. This year’s competition is co-sponsored by the Chicago chapter of the American Institute of Architects and Landmarks Illinois and is intended to examine the controversial origins and questionable future of the McCormick Place East Building, the 1971 modernist convention hall designed by Gene Summers of C.F. Murphy Associates and sited along the lakefront in Burnham Park.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Renovation
Country Chicago, United States
RegDeadline 15 March 2011 GoogleCal iCal
4 April 2011 (via Online) GoogleCal
Eligibility All


“McCormick Place REDUX” is an international single-stage ideas competition meant to explore possible scenarios for the third iteration of a significant 20th century building on a site that raises a string of questions about public space, parkland, access, and righting historical wrongs. The competition is open to anyone with a vision of what McCormick Place East might become: students, designers, artists, architects, planners, and landscape architects.


First prize: $3,000.00
Second prize: $1,500.00
Third prize: $750.00

Entry Fee
The regular registration fee is $90.00. Reduced registration fees for students (with a current ID) is $50.00, and the fee for 2011 CAC members is $30.00.

The final competition submission is limited to four 11x17 boards oriented in landscape format.

Winners announced: 16 April

The Chicago Architectural Club

Official Website