ÇANAKKALE Antenna Tower Competition


1st Prize
Powerhouse Company & IND [Inter.National.Design]

2nd Prize
Snohetta & Özer/Ürger Architects & Battle Mccarthy

3rd Prize

1st Mention
Teğet Mimarlık
Yonca Çeltikçi
Mehmet Okutan
Muharrem Akbulut
Lütfi Kutluay
Öykü Kocaman

2nd Mention
Ian Ritchie Architects

3rd Mention
Erdem Tüzün
Fernando Romero
Yelta Köm

4th Mention
Sou Fujimoto Architects

5th Mention
Olaf Gipser Architects
DS Mimarlık


Project competition for the Antenna Tower in Turkey.

Category Project Competition / Competition Result
Type International, Project, Open, Two-Stage
Genre Tower
Country Turkey
RegDeadline 27 November 2013 GoogleCal iCal
15 February 2013 GoogleCal
Eligibility The jury will be looking for designers with outstanding portfolios reflecting their talent, passion and enthusiasm in the field of architecture. It is not a requirement to have designed an antenna project before. The selecting committee is looking for des

The primary objective of the ‘Çanakkale Antenna Tower International Competition’ is to enable development of innovative concepts for creating a suitable environment to facilitate a multitude of technological and social functions. Hence, the scope of the competition includes the design of the antenna tower for broadcasting and that of spaces supporting ancillary facilities open to public use.
The competition is considered as a quest for design excellence and aims to ensure development of cultural, artistic, scientific, ethical and environmental values through economical, functional and innovative solutions. The design concepts to be developed are expected to achieve innovation, creativity, originality and identity while optimizing functionality and connectivity to its immediate surroundings.

The competition is structured as a pre-selection international design competition, where the first stage is aimed for pre-election and the second stage for design development.

Consultant Jury Members
Ahmet ÇINAR, Governor of Çanakkale
Ayhan GİDER, Secreteray General of Çanakkale Provincial Administration Office
Yücel ATALAY, Mayor of Gökçeada
Kenan ELİUZ, Secreteray General of Public Hospitals Association
Ömer YILMAZ, Architect, Arkitera Architecture Center

Founding Jury Members
Emre AROLAT, Architect, EAA
Louis BECKER, Architect, Henning Larsen Architects, Caroline BOS Architect, UNStudio
Oğuz Cem ÇELİK, Structural Engineer, Istanbul Technical University
Arzu ERDEM, Architect, Istanbul Technical University

1st Prize: 100.000,00 Turkish Liras
2nd Prize: 80.000,00 Turkish Liras
3rd Prize: 50.000,00 Turkish Liras
1st Honorable Mention: 25.000,00 Turkish Liras
2nd Honorable Mention: 25.000,00 Turkish Liras
3rd Honorable Mention: 25.000,00 Turkish Liras
4th Honorable Mention: 25.000,00 Turkish Liras
5th Honorable Mention: 25.000,00 Turkish Liras

Entry Fee

Announcement of 8 participants for the second stage of the competition: December 4, 2013
Colloquium and award ceremony: March 15, 2014

Çanakkale Antenna Tower International Competition Secreteriat

Official Website