2014 Charter Awards

This awards recognize excellence in architectural, landscape, and urban designs built in harmony with their physical and social context, as well as the policies, plans, and codes that structure them.

Category Award / Open to Students
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Urban
Country United States
RegDeadline 8 January 2014 GoogleCal iCal
8 January 2014 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field Any plan, project, codes, manuals, or studies built, un-built

- Best Regional Plan
- Best City Plan
- Best Neighborhood Plan
- Best District Plan
- Best Corridor Plan
- Best Urban Infill
- Best Street
- Best Block
- Best Building
- Best Suburban Retrofit
- Best Tactical Intervention
- Best Planning Tool or Process

Jeff Speck, Jury Chair, City Planner and Architectural Designer, Speck and Associates
Ronald E. Bogle, President & CEO of the American Architectural Foundation
Will Bruder, FAIA, President and Lead Design Architect at Will Bruder Architects
Adele Chatfield-Taylor, President & CEO of the American Academy in Rome
Manny Diaz, Mayor of Miami 2001-2009, Partner at Lydecker Diaz, LLP
Rob Krier, Architect and Sculptor, KK Urbanism
Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, Founder and Principal, Duany Plater-Zyberk and Company
Michaele Pride, Professor of Architecture at the University of New Mexico
Brent Toderian, city planner and urbanist, Toderian UrbanWORKS

Grand Prize Winner: $5,000 cash prize
Academic Prize Winner: $3,000 cash prize

Entry Fee
$300 per project
CNU members: $250 per project
Student and faculty submissions: $50 per project, which includes a one-year CNU student membership

- Project Description (one page, 650 words max)
- Response to Charter Principles (one page, 650 words max)
- Lessons Learned (half a page, 325 words max)
- Printed Photographs and Illustrations (5 to 12 pages)
- Up to nine photos

The award ceremony: June 5, 2014

Past winners

Congress for the New Urbanism

Official Website