contractworld.award 2009


The winners were announced during the official prize-giving ceremony on 17 January 2009.

Below you can find the winners of the contractworld.award 2009 (in alphabetical order).

Category "Offices/Administration buildings"
Junya.Ishigami + Associates, Tokyo / Japan
Project: Facility of Kanagawa Institute of Technology, Kanagawa / Japan

regina schineis architekten, Augsburg / Germany
Project: werk + denklabor pauker, Friedberg / Germany

Splitterwerk, Graz / Austria
Project: Frog Queen, Graz / Austria

Cateory "Hotels/Spas/Catering facilities"
Hitoshi Abe & Atelier Hitoshi Abe, Sendai-City / Japan
Project: Aoba-tei Restaurant, Sendai-City / Japan

J.Mayer H. Architekten, Berlin / Germany
Project: Mensa Moltke, Karlsruhe / Germany

Modulorbeat-ambitious urbanists and planners, Münster / Germany
Project: Kubik BLN/BCN, Berlin / Germany & Barcelona / Spain

Category "Shops/Showrooms/Exhibition stands"
Manuelle Gautrand Architect, Paris / France
Project: C42, Citröen Flagship Showroom, Paris / France

Merkx +Girod Architects, Amsterdam / Netherlands
Project: Bookstore Selexyz Dominicanen, Maastricht / Netherlands

RCR Aranda Pigem Vilalta Arquitectes, Oldt. Girona / Spain
Project: Hammersoi in the Light of Dreyer, Barcelona / Spain

Category "Conversion"
EMBAIXADA, Lissabon / Portugal
Project: Tomar enviromental montitoring and Interpretation office (emio), Tomar / Portugal

Jens Casper Architekt, Berlin / Germany
Project: Wohnhaus / Sammlung Boros, Berlin / Germany

Junya.Ishigami + Associates, Tokyo / Japan
Project: yohji yamamoto New York gansevoort street store, New York / USA

Special awards "New generation" (architects/interior designers under the age of 40)
Cateory "Hotels/Spas/Catering facilities"
Plasmastudio, London / Great Britain
Project: Hotel Puerta America-4th Floor, Madrid / Spain

Category "Shops/Showrooms/Exhibition stands"
ex-studio, Barcelona / Spanien Portugal Fashion Design Showroom,
Project: Cascais - Porto - Algarve - Madeira / Portugal



The ninth contractworld.award competition has been announced for 2009. Prizes will be awarded for the best design concepts for interior design.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International Interior Award
Genre Interior
Country Germany
Registration Deadline 6 June 2008 GoogleCal iCal
Submission Deadline 20 June 2008 (Must be Postmarked) GoogleCal
Eligibility All
Target Field Design concepts for interiors which have been realized after 31.12.2004.

The ninth contractworld.award competition has been announced for 2009. Prizes will be awarded for the best design concepts in three main categories: progressive work environments, creative hotel and restaurant interiors, and innovative shops and exhibition stands. An additional entry category this year covers conversion projects, where interiors originally constructed for religious, cultural or public use have been successfully redesigned to serve a new purpose.

The contractworld.award is now regarded as the most important architecture prize for interior design and is seen as the most reliable indicator of the quality of interior design in these areas of work. To make the competition even more attractive to prospective entrants, the total prize money has now been increased to € 60,000.

The contractworld.award focuses on the latest developments in interior design, with particular reference to interior fi ttings and fi xtures, lighting, fl ooring, wall and ceiling fi nishes.

1. Offices/Administration buildings
2. Hotels/Spas/Catering facilities
3. Shops/Showrooms/Exhibition stands
4. Conversion

• Jutta Blocher, Blocher Blocher Partners, Architecture and Interior Design, Stuttgart /Germany
• Francesca Ferguson, S AM Schweizerisches Architekturmuseum, Basel/Switzerland
• Prof. Klaus Kada, Architekturbüro Univ.Prof.Arch.DI Klaus Kada, Graz /Austria
• Gabor Kiss, SWAROVSKI, Wattens/Austria
• Jan Kleihues, Kleihues + Kleihues, Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH, Berlin /Germany
• Wolfram Putz, GRAFT, Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH, Berlin /Germany, Los Angeles /USA, Peking /China
• Prof. Dagmar Richter, DR_D, Berlin /Germany, Los Angeles/USA

Judging Process

Prizes will be awarded to a total value of € 60,000.
The prizes in each of the individual categories are as follows:
• Best of Category € 7,000
• 2nd prize € 4,000
• 3rd prize € 3,000
• Special-mention awards € 2,000

Two special awards will be presented, each to the value of € 2000. These will be awarded exclusively to “New Generation” entrants (architects under the age of 40) responsible for avant-garde projects.

Entry Fee

A maximum of two display boards in A1 format

Submission Address
Gesellschaft für Knowhow-Transfer
in Architektur und Bauwesen mbH
Rödingsmarkt 26
20459 Hamburg/Germany

17/18 July 2008: Jury meets in Hannover
17 January 2009: Presentation of awards at a special ceremony held during DOMOTEX HANNOVER 2009
17–20 January 2009: Presentation by winners of contractworld.award 2009 at DOMOTEX 2009

Past winners

Deutsche Messe

Official Website