D. Areopagitou 2008: Reformation of the rear views of historic buildings at 17 and 19, Areopagitou Street


Total of 172 projects, created by 405 participants from 15 different countries.
Award winners gallery.


The architectural web site in Greece www.greekarchitects.gr invites architects, designers, artists and students all over the world to re-consider the aspect and re-design the back side of the listed buildings on the Dionyssiou Areopagitou str. No 17 & 19.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International Exterior Design Idea Competition
Genre Façade
Country Acropolis, Athens
RegDeadline 18 April 2008 GoogleCal iCal
6 May 2008 (via Online) GoogleCal
Eligibility All

Magazine greekarchitects.gr has proclaimed an open tender titled “D. Areopagitou 2008: reformation of the rear views of historic buildings at 17 and 19, D. Areopagitou Street”. The tender will be completed in a single phase and it is exclusively organized by greekarchitects.gr. Greekarchitects.gr is faced with the challenge to carry out the tender efficiently and to ensure complete and due evaluation of the proposals. Therefore, architects and artists highly esteemed for their work and academic careers have been selected by the Awarding Committee to that effect.
We suggest that the tender results be broadly published, through postings on our website, in the daily Press and specialized magazines. Moreover, we expect that all proposals will be presented in an exhibition to be hosted at carefully selected facilities in Athens. The rewarded and distinguished proposals will see broader publicity whereas the CV’s of their creators will be posted on our website.
Greekarchitects.gr will forward the 1st prize to the Ministry of Culture and the Ministry of Public Works, Town Planning and Environment to consider its applicability in view of the official opening of the New Acropolis Museum (NAM), which is scheduled for 2009.



Stephen Antonakos – Artist
Demetris Antonakakis – Architect
Kostas Varotsos – Painter
Nikos Georgiadis - Architect
Maro Kardamitsi -Adami– Architect, Assistant Professor at the National Technical University of Athens (NTUA)
Yiannis Kizis– Architect, Assist. Professor NTUA
Anastassios Kotsiopoulos– Architect, Professor at the Aristotle University of Thessalonica (AUT)
François Loyer – Directeur de recherche au CNRS
Centre André-Chastel, Université de Paris-Sorbonne
Bouki Babalou – Noukaki – Architect, Professor NTUA
George Panetsos – Architect, Assist. Professor at the University of Patras
Alexandros Tobazis– Architect
Panagiotis Tournikiotis – Architect, Assist. Professor NTUA
Katerina Tsigarida – Architect
Yiannis Tsiomis – Architect, Professeur à l’EHESS et
aux Ecoles d’Architecture Paris-Belleville et Paris La Villette
Kostas Tsoklis - Artist

Judging Process
One-Stage, Anonymous Competition

1st Reward: 4.000 euros
2nd Reward: 2.500 euros
3rd Reward: 1.400 euros
Α’ Commendation: 700 euros (3 candidates)
Β’ Commendation: 500 euros (3 candidates)

Entry Fee
20 EUR

Digital image (jpg file), Personal details (pdf file)

Announcement of results: June 7-15, 2008
Presentation of proposals on the Internet: End of June 2008
Athens Exhibition: Fall 2008

Greek Architects Magazine

Official Website