2009 Delta Cup-International Solar Building Design Competition

Combined with the reconstruction after Wenchuan earthquake in Sichuan Province, the competition with a theme of “Sunshine and Hope” is facing the whole world to collect design scheme of rural “Sunshine primary school” and some of awarded submissions will be put into construction in disaster area.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre School
Country Beijing, China
RegDeadline 1 December 2008 GoogleCal iCal
1 January 2009 (via Online) GoogleCal
Eligibility All

Taking the competition as a platform let’s open out technology of solar building, promulgate the concept of sustainable operation, express our love and responsibility to the children in disaster area and make their life and studying filled with gladness, hope and genial sunshine.
1. Rural Sunshine Primary School in Ma Er Kang area
2. Rural Sunshine Primary School in Mian Yang area.

Mr. Cui Kai (Deputy Board Member of IUA, Vice President of Architectural Society of China, National Design Master and Chief Architect of China Architecture Design & Research Group)
Ms. Anne Grete Hestnes (Former President of International Solar Energy Society and Professor of Department of Architecture, Norway Science & Technology University)
Mr. Deo Prasad (Asia-Pacific President of International Solar Energy Society and Professor of Faculty of the Built Environment, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia)
Mr. Mitsuhiro Udagawa (President of ISES-Japan; Doctor of Engineering of Waseda University and professor of Department of Architecture, Kogakuin University)
Mr. M.Norbert Fisch (Professor of TU Braunschweig, President of the Institute of Architecture and Solar Energy Technology, Germany and Doctor of Stuttgart University, Germany)
Mr. Lin Xiande (President of Taiwan Green Building Committee; Doctor of Tokyo University, Japan and Professor of Faculty of Architecture of Success University, Taiwan)
Mr. Zhong Jishou (Chief Commissioner of Special Committee of Solar Building, Chinese Renewable Energy Society and Doctor of China University of Mining & Technology)
Mr. Xi Wenhua (Director of Gansu Natural Energy Research Institute; director of UNIDO International Solar Energy Center for Technology Promotion and Transfer, Expert in sustainable energy field from United Nations, international coordinator)
Mr. Feng Ya (Deputy chief engineer of Southwest Architecture Design and Research Institute of China, Deputy director of special committee of building thermal and energy efficiency, Architectural Society of China, Doctor of Chongqing University)

First Prize (2): The Trophy Cup, Certificate and Bonus CNY 50,000
Second Prize (4): The Trophy Cup, Certificate and Bonus CNY 20,000
Third Prize (6): The Trophy Cup, Certificate and Bonus CNY 5,000
Honorable Mention Prize (40) and the Prize for Technical Excellence Works: The Certificate

Entry Fee

A brief of the design scheme (no more than 200 words) and 2 or 4 panels (840mm×590mm, in JPEG or PDF format)

The brief of the design scheme: Chinese and English

Evaluation phase, Awarded submission works are confirmed: February 2009
Publication of awarded works florilegium: March 2009 - May 2009
Award ceremony: May 2009

Past winners

Delta Environmental & Educational Foundation

Official Website