Downtown Fargo: an urban-infill competition


“Fargo 365” by David Witham, Doug Meehan, Anna Ishii and Hanna Matteus-Kairys, Philadelphia, PA
“ebb and flow” by Nakjune Seong and Sarah Kuen, South Lake, TX

Second place
“Vertical Plain” by Helenske Design Group, Fargo. Helenske Design Group

Honorable Mention
“More Broadway” by Russel Collin, Calgary, AB; “Seed” by: Ted L. Wright, Phoenix, AZ
“Icon” by Ty Greff, Santa Fe, NM

People’s Choice Awards
“Kilbourne Square” by Atelier Heamavihio and Don Faulkner, Fargo
“201 Broadway” by EAPC, Grand Forks

First place in the People’s Choice Awards
“Broadway Market Commons” by Cornell Design and Planning Group, Ithica, NY. Cornell Design and Planning Group

View entries...


This is an international, conceptual urban ideas competition open to architects, designers, engineers, landscape architects and aspiring students. The canvas is the U.S. Bank plaza and surface parking lot property in Downtown Fargo, North Dakota. The challenge is to envision an exceptional multi-use space that accommodates retail, residential, parking, office, and civic space. The space needs to convey the energy of “live, work and play” in Downtown Fargo.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Urban
Country United States
RegDeadline 29 October 2010 GoogleCal iCal
23 November 2010 GoogleCal
Eligibility All

Bob Stein
Cindy Urness
Doug Burgum
Kathleen Pepple
Mary deLaittre
Ronald (Ron) P. Robson

First prize: $15,000 (U.S.)
Second prize: $10,000 (U.S.)
Honorable mention: $1,000 (U.S.)

Entry Fee

Winners announced: December 10th

Kilbourne Group

Official Website