James Dyson Award 2010

Put simply; design something that solves a problem

Category Other Competition / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Students or Age Restriction , Three-Stage , Onymous
Genre Product
Country London, UK
RegDeadline 1 July 2010 GoogleCal iCal
1 July 2010 (via Online)
Eligibility Product design, industrial design and engineering university level students (or graduates within 4 years of graduation) who have studied in the following countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, New

The James Dyson Award is an international design award that celebrates, encourages and inspires the next generation of design engineers. It’s run by the James Dyson Foundation, James Dyson’s charitable trust, as part of its mission to inspire young people about design engineering.

Stage 1: A panel of design and engineering professors and professionals in each of the 17 participating countries
Stage 2: A panel of Dyson design engineers
Stage 3: Finally, an international judging panel, comprising high profile designers and engineers, academics and journalists. James Dyson will make the final judgement, informed by the international judges

International winner: £10,000 for the student or student team and £10,000 for the student’s university department and the opportunity to visit the Dyson facilities in either the UK or Malaysia
2 International Finalists and National Winner: the opportunity to visit the Dyson facilities in either the UK or Malaysia
Up to 9 National Finalists from each country: Certificate of Excellence from James Dyson Foundation

Entry Fee

- Succinct description of the project, outlining its principal purpose and function
- Explanation of inspiration behind project, along with personal motivation
- Explanation of the development process that the designer took to develop the project
(each in mother tongue and in English, no longer than 200 words)
- Selected low res images

First national shortlists announced: 3 August 2010
Second shortlist announced: 24 August 2010
Finalists announced: 14 September 2010
Winner announcement: 5 October 2010

Past winners

James Dyson Foundation

Official Website