James Dyson Award 2011


View entries...


Put simply; design something that solves a problem

Category Other Competition / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Students or Age Restriction , Three-Stage , Onymous
Genre Product
Country London, UK
Registration Deadline 2 August 2011 GoogleCal iCal
Submission Deadline 2 August 2011 (via Online)
Eligibility Product design, industrial design and engineering university level students (or graduates within 4 years of graduation) who have studied in the following countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UK and USA

The James Dyson Award is an international student design award running in 18 countries. It’s run by the James Dyson Foundation, James Dyson’s charitable trust, as part of its mission to encourage the next generation of design engineers to be creative, challenge and invent.

Stage 1: A panel of design and engineering professors and professionals in each of the 18 participating countries
Stage 2: A panel of Dyson design engineers
Stage 3: An international judging panel of high-profile designers, engineers, academics and journalists pick 15 international finalists

International winner: £10,000 for the student or student team and £10,000 for the student’s university department
2 International FRunners-up: £2,000 each
Twelve International Finalists: Certificate
National Winners: £1,000 each
Up to nine National Finalists from each country: Certificate

Entry Fee

- Succinct description of the project, outlining its principal purpose and function
- Explanation of the inspiration behind the project, along with the entrants personal motivation
- Explanation of the development process that the designer took to develop the project
(each in mother tongue and in English, no longer than 200 words)
- Selected low res images

National winners and finalists announced: 6th September 2011
Dyson engineers shortlist announced: 27th September 2011
International finalists announced: 18th October 2011
Winner announced: 8th November 2011

Past winners

James Dyson Foundation

Official Website