The Ideal Theatre - Design Competition for Architectural and Theatre Students 2009


Escuela Tecnica Superior Arquitectura Alacala, Spain
Architecture student: Javier Iglesias Sanchez
Theatre student: Raquel Viana

Honor Award
Technical University of Lodz, Poland
Architecture students: Karolina Grzegorzewska, Magdalena Kotwicka
Theatre students: Krzysztof Lasek, Anita Naumiec

University of Tehran, Tarbiat Modarresi University, Technical High School, Islamic Azad University, Shahid Beheshti University, Iran
Architecture students: Ardavan Bidgoli, Milad Khedmat Gorzar, Sadegh Panahi Azar, Morteza Ghorbani Eftekhar
Architecute Alumni/Post Graduate: Omid Salighehrad, Morteza Rahbar
Theatre Alumni/Post Graduate: Ali Khedmatgozar, Amin Ali kordi, Nazanin Valajam


The competition poses the design question, “What is the Ideal Theatre for teaching professional theatre”? This question is to be explored and answered by a “Team” composed of at least one theatre student currently enrolled in a college or university theatre program and one architectural student enrolled in an accredited architectural college or university program.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Students, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Theater
Country Cincinnati, Ohio
RegDeadline 17 November 2008 GoogleCal iCal
15 January 2009 (Must be Received) GoogleCal
Eligibility “Team” composed of theatre students currently enrolled in a college or university theatre program and architectural students enrolled in an accredited school of architecture.

Each team member has a defined responsibility. The theatre students will act as the “Client” and the architectural students as the “Designer”. The “Client” is responsible to teach the “Designer” about the workings and artistry of Theatre! The “Client” will define the detail needs of the theater complex and provide at least one critique of the design produced by the “Designer.” It is desired that the “Client” will remain an active member of the design process. The design solution MUST be the result of a “Conversation” between the “Client” and “Designer”. History proves the most successful theatre design solutions take into account all aspects and needs of theatre production, artist presentation and audience interaction.

Architect, John Prokos, FAIA Gund Partnership, Cambridge, Massachusetts
Acoustician, Mark Holden, JaffeHolden Norwalk, Connecticut
Theatre Consultant, Benton Delinger, Theatre Projects Theatre Consultants, South Norwalk, Connecticut

The 3 Finalists: $1000 (each) to assist in travel to Cincinnati, Ohio.
The First Place Team: additional $500

Entry Fee

The Design should be presented as a single display not larger than two (2) 36” x 42” boards.

Submission Address
USITT Competition:
Scott F. Georgeson, AIA,
HGA Architects, 333 East Erie Street,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53202

Judging and selection of the Winning Team: March 21, 2009

Past winners

The Architectural Commission of the United States Institute for Theater & Technology

Official Website