AR New into Old Awards 2019

We are seeking the most creative and exciting adaptive re-use projects.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage
Genre Renovation
Country UK
RegDeadline 6 September 2019 (See "Entry Fee" below) GoogleCal iCal
6 September 2019 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field Projects completed in the last 5 years

‘Our duty is to give buildings a new lease of life’, Carlo Scarpa once said, ‘so that they may be able to live today and tomorrow’. As the need for sustainable alternatives to building anew becomes increasingly urgent, the AR New into Old awards celebrate the creative ways buildings are adapted and remodelled to welcome new contemporary uses. Launched in 2017, the awards recognise the imaginative appropriation of existing structures that offer buildings a new lease of life, from innovative insertions to ambitious adaptations.
Regardless of programme, budget, site or scale, the AR is looking for projects completed in the last 5 years which have had their life extended by the insertion of new uses rather than demolition and replacement. All entries will be reviewed by the expert international judging panel which will choose a shortlist of up to six commended buildings. The judges’ six chosen schemes will all be visited by an independent critic before the judges choose a winner.

Not yet announced


Entry Fee
Early bird entry fee (before 26 July 2019): £325 + VAT
£375 + VAT

Past winners

Architecture Review

Official Website