A NEW INFRASTRUCTURE; Innovative Transit Solutions for Los Angeles


Professional Category sponsored by AECOM and ARUP
1st Place $3000.00
Team Members: Jacob M. Brostoff, Joshua G. Stein, Jaclyn Thomforde and Aaron Whelton

2nd Place $1500.00
Fletcher Studio / David Fletcher. Team Members: Dylan Barlow, Ryan Chandler, Daniel Phillips, Tobi Adamolekun

3rd Place $1000.00
Team Members: Osborn Architects / Holly Chisholm, Kate Harvey, Armen Isagholi, Takeshi Kobayashi, Michael Pinto, Jared Sopko, Esmeralda Ward and Yuju Yeo

Honorable Mentions
Tom Beresford

Student Category sponsored by Sussman/Prejza and Company
1st Place $1500.00
Ryan Lovett, UC Berkeley

2nd Place $1000.00
Team Members: Alan Lu and Yan-ping Wang, UC Berkeley

3rd Place $500.00
Team Members: Ben Abelman, Vivian Ngo and Julia Siedle, Columbia University

Honorable Mentions
Team: Tim Do, George Labeth and Randy Stogsdill, SCI-Arc
Roe Goodman, University of British Columbia
Minjeong Gweon, CAL Poly Pomona


Their entries will focus on specific rail extension projects and also take a look at larger-scale, interrelated transit planning challenges. Competitors will be encouraged to work in multidisciplinary teams within the parameters of LA County Ballot Measure R.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Transportation, Urban
Country Los Angeles, United States
RegDeadline 13 March 2009 GoogleCal iCal
13 March 2009 (Must be Received)
Eligibility All

The passage in November 2008 of Measure R, a half cent sales tax in Los Angeles County, will provide as much as $40 billion for local transit-related projects over the next 30 years. Meanwhile, US President Barack Obama has pledged to make the largest investment since the 1950s in the country’s crumbling infrastructure.
But in addition to extensive new funding, there must also be a more innovative and integrated vision for these plans: this means a radical rethinking of the relationships between transit systems, public space and development of the city as whole. It’s time to use technological innovations and design skill to create transport that increases efficiency, safety, and comfort, while preserving and enhancing the public realm, meeting green building goals and dramatically improving our cities and our neighborhoods.
- Expand and improve the field of ideas for transportation design and transit-driven urban redevelopment projects within Los Angeles County.
- To broaden our thinking and discussions about the relationships between transit systems, public space and the built environment.

Thom Mayne (Principal and Founder of Morphosis Architects;Professor, UCLA)
Aspet Davidian (Director, Project Engineering Facilities, LA Metro)
Neil Denari (Professor, UCLA; Principal, Neil M. Denari Architects)
Gail Goldberg (Director of Planning, City of Los Angeles)
Roland Genick (Urban Designer, Exposition Line)
Cecilia V. Estolano (CEO CRA/LA- Community Redevelopment Agency of the City of Los Angeles)
Eric Owen Moss (Director, SCI-Arc; Principal)
Other jurors to be announced…

To be announced

Entry Fee
Student Entries: $25.00 USD
Professional Entries: $50.00 USD

2 presentation boards sized ARCH D (24” x 36”) and a description of no more than 500 words and digital datas

Submission Address
The Southern California Institute of Architecture
960 E 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90013

Public announcement of winners and jury discussion: March 21, 2009
Exhibition of selected entries: from March 21 to March 28, 2009 at SCI-Arc

SCIFI at SCI-Arc and The Architect’s Newspaper

Official Website