LEAF Awards 2009


LEAF Award Winner
Woods Bagot for the Qatar Science and Technology Park in Qatar


Mixed-Use Building of the Year
EAA-Emre Arolat Architects for 7800 Çesme Residences & Hotel in Turkey
- Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates PC - Shanghai World Financial Center
- EAA-Emre Arolat Architects - 7800 Çesme Residences & Hotel
- Space Craft Architects - O-Central

Residential Building of the Year
David Chipperfield Architects for Ninetree Village in China (Multiple Occupancy) Studio mk27 for Paraty House in Brazil (Single Occupancy)
Multiple occupancy shortlist:
- driendl*architects - Multiple Independence
- Shatotto Architecture For Green Living - Alif Breeze
- David Chipperfield Architects - Ninetree Village
Single occupancy shortlist:
- KWK PROMES (Arch: Robert Konieczny) - OUTrial House
- Office of Kenji Tagashira - House in Takanohara II
- Marcio Kogan - Paraty House

Commercial Building of the Year
Woods Bagot for the Qatar Science and Technology Park in Qatar
- DISSING+WEITLING - Media House for Danish Broadcasting Corporation
- Woods Bagot - Qatar Science and Technology Park
- Fletcher Priest Architects - 10 Eastbourne Terrace

International Interior Design Award
ATELIER BRÜCKNER GmbH for BMW Museum in Germany
- HG Merz - Porsche Museum
- Ben Hansen Architect - The Slide Loft
Young Architect Shortlist:
- Wood Program 2007: Satoshi Ohtaki and Working Group – Hanko Ice Cream Kiosk
- John Pardey Architects - Hind House
- Feix&Merlin Architects - Eyes Wide sHut
- Marc Mogas Bartomeu - RIN 21

Best Sustainable Development
Chetwoods Architects for Blue Planet, Chatterley Valley in Ireland
- Kaden Klingbeil Architekten - E3
- Chetwoods Architects - Gazeley Blue Planet, Chatterley Valley
- ingenhoven architects - European Investment Bank (EIB)
- Arup Associates - Citi Data Centre, Frankfurt

Master Planning & Landscaping
Strootman Landscape Architects & Palmbout Urban Landscapes for Wieringen Passage in the Netherlands
- club L94 LandschaftsArchitekten with HolzerKobler Architekturen - Finding Place of the Nebra Sky Disc
- Strootman Landscape Architects - Wieringen Passage
- Space Craft Architects / S333 / Proctor & Matthews - Castle Hill

Public Building
gpy arquitectos for La Cisnera Community Centre in Spain
- Zaha Hadid Architects - Zaragoza Bridge Pavilion
- Office of Public Works in Ireland with Keith Williams Architects - Wexford Opera House
- gpy arquitectos - La Cisnera Community Centre
- David Chipperfield Architects - Neues Museum
- Bucholz McEvoy Architects Ltd - Westmeath County Council Civic Offices

Best Structural Design of the Year
Amanda Levete Architects for Spencer Dock Bridge in the UK
- DISSING+WEITLING - Glass Staircase in the National Bank of Denmark
- Amanda Levete Architects - Spencer Dock Bridge
- Waugh Thisleton Architects - Stadthaus

View winning entries...


Now in its sixth year, the LEAF Awards honours the architects designing the buildings and solutions that are setting the benchmark for the international architectural community.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Architecture
Country UK
RegDeadline 26 June 2009 GoogleCal iCal
26 June 2009
Eligibility All
Target Field The project completed between January 2008 and June 2009 or within 3 years (young category only)

LEAF Award Winner*
Mixed Use Building of the Year*
Residential Building of the Year*
Commercial Building*
Public Building*
International Interior Design Award*
Master Planning & Landscaping*
Young Architect**
Best Sustainable Development*
Best Structural Design of the Year*
* The completion date for submitted projects must be between January 2008 and June 2009.
** Projects must be completed within three years of qualification.

Not yet announced

Publication and Exhibition

Entry Fee
Fee per entry: £250, thereafter £200 / Young Architect Award Fee: £50

For display purposes each entry will be mounted on A2 boards. For this we require the following:
- A 400-word overview of the project
- A maximum of 10 high resolution images
- A high resolution image of your logo

The LEAF Awards 2009 will be announced at the LEAF Awards Gala Dinner, to be held in Berlin on 4 September.

Past winners

SPG Media Group PLC

Official Website