9th Annual Milka Bliznakov Prize

The IAWA invites architects, scholars, and researchers to honor IAWA founder Milka Bliznakov through their research on women in architecture and related design fields.

Category Other Competition / Open to Students
Type International, Award, Open, Two-Stage, Onymous
Genre Architecture, Environment
Country Virginia, United States
Registration Deadline 1 November 2008 GoogleCal iCal
Submission Deadline 1 November 2008 (Must be Postmarked)
Eligibility All
Target Field Proposals may include an original project, research, or scholarly work, which contributes to and advances the recognition of women's contributions in design.

Their research, in concert with the preservation efforts of the IAWA, will help fill the current void in historical knowledge about women's professional achievements. The archive encourages such research in addition to its goal of preserving archival materials related to the work of women who shaped the built and designed environments, thus preserving for posterity a record of their achievements.
In Stage One, applicants register their proposal, which outlines the work they plan to complete within the coming year.
Stage Two occurs the following year, when applicants submit their completed projects. The winner of the prize is selected from among these projects.

Not yet announced


Entry Fee

A 500-word proposal

Submission Address
IAWA Executive Committee
ATTN: Donna Dunay, AIA
Chair, Milka Bliznakov Prize
School of Architecture + Design
Mail Code 0205
College of Architecture and Urban Studies
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061

The final project must be received by November 1, 2009.

The International Archive of Women in Architecture

Official Website