New Aging Award 2010: New Aging’s quest to publish innovative designs for the elderly


Nursing Home: Floating Houses by Megabudka

SeniorLife: NewBridge on the Charles by Perkins Eastman

Aesculapius by DRA&U
California Senior Housing by Matthew Gribben
Comfortable but inconvenient house by Hiroyuki Ichihara
daCrib by Dwight Engel and Karen Wong
Not Too Old by WHIM Architecture
Service Centre and Apartments, Aarschot by DRDH Architects

View entries...


The award for progressive architectural designs for the elderly

Category Award / Competition Result / Open to Students
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Architecture
Country Pennsylvania, United States
Registration Deadline 3 May 2010 GoogleCal iCal
Submission Deadline 3 May 2010 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field Any architectural project designed for 55 and older

The University of Pennsylvania is launching the New Aging Award 2010 in a search for progressive architectural designs (realized or conceptual) for the elderly. With a concern that banal architecture has become a barrier exacerbating physical limitations, social isolation, and dependency, the New Aging Award is looking for designs that break these trends and offers a design quality that enables the elderly to lead a life of dignity.

Bill Braham (the Interim Chair of the Department of Architecture at the University of Pennsylvania)
Matthias Hollwich (Principal, HWKN)
Winka Dubbeldam (Principal, Archi-Tectonics)
2 additional jury members (to be announced shortly)

2 award categories (1 for visionary and 1 for realized projects) and 6 honorable mentions: 2 free tickets to the conference

Entry Fee

A 150-250 word text description of the project and minimum 3 images

Winners Announced: May 2010
The New Aging Conference at the University of Pennsylvania: October 1st and 2nd, 2010

The University of Pennsylvania

Official Website