Museum of London West Smithfield International Design Competition


Stanton Williams and Asif Khan announced

The shortlisted teams (in alphabetical order):
BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group (DK) with Hawkins\Brown (UK)
Caruso St John Architects (UK)
Diener & Diener Architekten (CH) with Sergison Bates Architects (UK)
Lacaton & Vassal Architectes (FR) with Pernilla Ohrstedt Studio (UK)
studio Milou architecture (FR) with RL&Associés (FR) and Axis Architects (UK)

View entries...


International two-stage design competition to create a new museum.

Category Project Competition / Competition Result
Type International, Project, Open, Two-Stage
Genre Museum
Country London
RegDeadline 15 March 2016 GoogleCal iCal
15 March 2016 (via Online)
Eligibility Architects with relevant experience. Lead Designers must be able to demonstrate an average minimum annual turnover over the last three consecutive years of £2 million or equivalent financial performance in reporting currency or equivalent proof of financi

The new Museum of London at West Smithfield will be a compelling cultural destination of exceptional architectural quality, inspiring a passion for London.

The museum’s Board of Governors, as well as the Mayor of London and the City of London (the museum’s funders), recognise that this unique project – reimagining a nationally significant landmark – requires an outstanding and inspired architect or team of architects.

As a result, the museum is commissioning a global search through a two-stage international design competition launching in February 2016. The competition is funded by the Mayor of London, who has pledged £200,000 to support this phase of work.

The competition’s first stage is an international call for participation, appealing to architects with relevant experience who identify with the project’s values and are dedicated to its resolution. From these responses a shortlist of at least five architects or teams of architects will be selected and asked to produce a design concept at Stage Two. The winner is expected to be announced in summer 2016.


Design commission

Entry Fee

Winner announced: summer 2016

Museum of London

Official Website