One Prize 2014: SMART DOCK

We are seeking design proposals for the Smart Dock that are both symbolic and buildable .

Category Project Competition / Open to Students
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Interior, School
Country United States
RegDeadline 31 August 2014 (See "Entry Fee" below) GoogleCal iCal
31 August 2014 (via Online)
Eligibility All

As part of the transformation of the Brooklyn Navy Yard into a green technology and sustainable manufacturing complex, ONE Lab, a new school for design and science, will establish a collaborative teaching facility and public outreach center for socio-ecological design, to open in 2015.
The ONE Lab Smart Dock will located inside the Navy Yard’s newly-renovated Building 128 -- an 84,000 square foot former shipbuilding factory, which is being transformed into a high-tech center for design, prototyping, and new manufacture. Entrepreneurs, educators, and businesses in disciplines ranging from additive manufacturing, biotech, advanced robotics, architecture, and industrial design will work alongside one another in this unique space.
The ONE Lab Smart Dock will include spaces for lectures, events, and design studios for approximately thirty graduate level students. It will function both as a visual reference and spatial matrix for ONE Lab, a unique interdisciplinary research laboratory for industrial design, synthetic biology, landscape ecology, art, architecture, and master planning, The Dock will be part of the communal core of work environments in the Brooklyn Navy Yard’s New Lab innovation facility, which will be accessible to a variety of creative people and allow them to share equipment, like laser cutters and three-dimensional printers.
Because of its location and history, the Navy Yard facility will serve as a launching point for both theoretical and practical work that addresses smart design and the redevelopment of industrial and waterfront sites in New York and other cities worldwide.

Christian Hubert: Principal, Christian Hubert Studio and Chair, Terreform ONE Board of Directors
David Bergman: Principal, David Bergman Architect and Professor, Parsons School of Design
Luis Berríos-Negrón: Founder, Parmodular and The Anxious Prop and Visiting Lecturer, School of
Architecture of the Münster University for Applied Science
Anya Bokov: Architect and Adjunct Professor, Moscow Architectural Institute
Matthias Böttcher: Co-Founder, Raumtaktik
Jean-Louis Cohen: Sheldon H. Solow Professor in the History of Architecture, Institute of Fine Arts, New
York University
Scott Demel: Director of Operations, Marvel Architects
Talia Dorsey: Principal, The Commons Inc
John Hockenberry: Host, WNYC's The Takeaway program
Mitch McEwen: Principal, McEwen Studio and Partner, A(n) Office
David Ruy: Co-Director, Ruy Klein
Robyn Shapiro: Director of Community, The Lowline
Mark Shepard: Architect and Professor, University at Buffalo
Michael Szivos: Founder, SOFTLab and Visiting Professor, Pratt Institute's Graduate School of
Jack Tchen: Associate Professor, New York University Gallatin
Billie Tsien: Co-Founder, Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects
Adrian Welch: Director, e-architect
Karen Wong: Deputy Director, The New Museum

1st place: US $5000 + winning entry to be developed for construction
2nd place: US $2000
3rd place: US $1000

Entry Fee
Early Registration: US $100 until June 30, 2014
Registration: US $150 from June 30, 2014 to August 31, 2014

Two 24” by 36” color boards

Finalists announced: September 30, 2014
Winners Announced: October 29, 2014

Terreform ONE

Official Website