Outside the Box: Low and High Technologies for the Emergencies


View entries...


The competition is focused on identifying design ideas for resolving various problems in emergency situations.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Open, Two-Stage, Onymous
Genre Sustainability, Temporary-Structure
Country Italy
RegDeadline 15 January 2012 GoogleCal iCal
15 January 2012 (via Online)
Eligibility All

The competition “Outside the Box: Low and High Technologies for the Emergencies” is focused on identifying design ideas for resolving various problems in emergency situations.
At this point in time the emergency has become the norm. During recent years numerous natural phenomena have upset the lives of many communities scattered across the globe. Examples include Fukushima in Japan, Haiti, L'Aquila in Italy and New Orleans in the United States.
The Box is a small temporary structure capable of offering various services: a small space for work, a centre of organisation and meetings for governments or other bodies dealing with and managing an emergency.
A space that is simultaneously a workstation and information centre open to public, with free wifi and internet access to allow to people remain in touch with the rest of the world.
A fundamental role in the elaboration of the design proposal must be entrusted to technology, whether low- or high-tech.
The challenge launched by the Competition is also that of uniting two unavoidable aspects of contemporary design: sustainability and parametric design (the use of parametric modelling software to develop three-dimensional models).

1st phase
Bernardina Borra (co-founder of DemoArchitects)
Luca Bullaro (Ph.D. in “Architectural design”, Università degli Studi di Palermo)
Lucy Bullivant (an architecture curator, author, critic and guest lecturer and chair)
Dr Martyn Hook (Associate Professor of Architecture at RMIT University in Melbourne)
Zaira Magliozzi (a freelance architect and editor based in Rome)
Graziella Trovato (an architect by the University of Palermo)
2nd phase
Mario Cucinella (Mario Cucinella Architects)
Nancy Goldring (Artist)
Hans Ibelings (the editor of A10 new European architecture)
Neil Leach (a Visiting Professor at the University of Southern California)
William Menking (the founder and editor-in-chief of The Architect’s Newspaper)
Luis Moya González (Professor in the Escuela Tecnica Superior de Arquitectura de Madrid)
Luigi Prestinenza Puglisi (an architectural writer and critic)
Massimo Russo (the University of Sacro Cuore in Rome)
Patrik Schumacher (partner at Zaha Hadid Architects and founding director at the AA Design Research Lab)

1st place: 10,000 dollars
2nd place: 4,000 dollars
3rd place: 3,000 dollars
Popular jury award: 5,000 dollars

Entry Fee
20 $

Two panels (120 x 60 cm)

Announcement of the 10 Finalists: 15 February 2012
Announcement of the Competition Winning Entries: 30 March 2012

Associazione Italiana di Architettura e Critica and presS/Tfactory

Official Website