Philips - Livable Cities Award

Celebrating simple solutions for your health and well-being

Category Award / Open to Students
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Architecture, Furniture, Interior, Product
Country The Netherland
RegDeadline 28 October 2010 GoogleCal iCal
28 October 2010 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field Original ideas within maximum 2 years

Not only are more people living in cities: their average age is increasing, reflecting the demographic change experienced by the population in general. According to the World Health Organization, the proportion of people aged over 60 is projected to reach 22% by 2050.1 The inevitable consequence of these two trends is that people are living longer alone in cities.
An ever-growing, and ageing, population has a specific set of needs: to feel safe and secure; remain connected to their fellow community members; and continue living independently – right into old age – with the necessary access to healthcare.
To effectively meet these challenges, and ensure that their citizens continue to live happy, healthy and fulfilled lives, cities will need to constantly innovate across a wide range of areas, including home healthcare, street safety, provision of outdoor community areas and healthy workplaces.
Philips recognizes and understands the complex challenges of ‘keeping cities livable’, and is committed to developing ‘simple solutions’ to meet these, with the aim of improving the quality of life for people in cities.
There are 3 Award categories: Well-being Outdoors, Independent Living, Healthy Lifestyle at Work and Home

Richard Florida (author of The Great Reset and Director of the Martin Prosperity Institute and Professor of Business and Creativity at the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto)
and 3 internationally renowned experts

1 overall winning idea: €75,000
2 additional ideas from the remaining categories: €25,000 each

Entry Fee

A Descriptions and a Estimate of the budget etc.(total 9,500 characters max)

Shortlisted entries announced: January 2011
The Award Ceremony: April 2011


Official Website