World Architecture Festival 2009

Following 2008’s enormous success, the World Architecture Festival is back, offering even more opportunities for architects to showcase their best work and compete for its coveted awards. This year there will be 3 further sets of awards and 42 categories.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open
Genre Architecture, Interior, Landscape, Structure
Country Barcelona
RegDeadline 26 June 2009 GoogleCal iCal
26 June 2009 (via Online)
Eligibility All designs must be by professionals whose qualifications are recognised by their local accreditation organisation
Target Field Buildings, interiors, landscape and structural designs, completed between 1 January 2008 and 26 June 2009 and Future projects

- Completed Buildings
- Future Projects
- Interiors and Fit Out
- Structural Design

Will Alsop, Lorenzo Apicella, Maria Aslam-Hyder, Renato Benedetti, Justine Clark, Sir Peter Cook, David Dunster, Mark Dytham, Marcus Fairs, Sou Fujimoto, Nabil Gholam, Rob Gregory, Bill Hanway, Kim Herforth Nielsen, Bjarke Ingels, Charles Jencks, Chris Johnson, Hanif Kara, Peter Kudryavtsev, Kengo Kuma, Nicola Leonardi, Kieran Long, Prof. Wang Lu, Philippe Maters, William Menking, Luis O'Grady, Shane O'Toole, Suha Ozkan, Vladimir Plotkin, Lee Polisano, Ewa Porebska, Michel Rojkind, Robert Schäfer, Dennis Sharp, Catherine Slessor, Rafael Vinoly, Ken Yeang, Roger Zogolovitch, Carlotta Zucchini


Entry Fee
995 € - Awards entry, including 2 x three day visitor tickets for the Festival
545 € - Awards entry, without visitor tickets
400 € - Subsequent entries after first entry completed

Shortlist announcement: Late August
Presentation and category winners selected at the Festival: 4–6 November
Representation and World Building of the Year selected at the Festival: 6 November

Past winners


Official Website