Design Ideas Competition 2010


Living with the Water Paradox proposal by Nok Ratanavong, Sang Ok Kim, and James Kim

Winner of the special prize for Best Insights
full of fuel by Anthony Joyeux

Honourable Mentions
Manifestations for a City by Digant Shah
FIH in Fairview Mall by Bronwyn Whyte

View entries...


The purpose of the competition is to stimulate thinking and discourse about how to increase the resilience of our cities as we move into a century where our cities will be subjected to the combined environmental and economic impacts of Peak Oil and Climate Change.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Urban
Country United States
RegDeadline 14 May 2010 GoogleCal iCal
28 May 2010 (via Online) GoogleCal
Eligibility All

The overarching theme of the 2010 Design Ideas Competition is: “Building Urban Resilience where you live with what you have.” Consistent with this theme, the purpose of this year’s competition is:
1. To raise greater awareness about the combined challenges of Climate Change and Peak Oil in the context of human settlement - and the radical challenges these will pose for how we plan cities and design buildings in the future
2. To provide a public forum, for a conversation about how planning and design professionals should develop more effective and implementable planning and design strategies for increasing the overall resilience of our cities in the face of Climate Change and Peak Oil
3. To give participants the opportunity to explore the concept of urban resilience through project based learning

Because the theme of this year’s competition is “Building Urban Resilience where you live with what you have”, we are requiring that competition participants propose ideas for the city that they are currently a resident of.

To be announced

Best Blog Format Submission: $1000
Best Video Format Submission: $1000
Honorable Mentions: Book Prizes

Entry Fee

2 types of media: Text and Images or Video(up to 10 minutes)

Past winners


Official Website