The 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize for Excellence in Architecture

This prize recognizes the social values architects can foster with thoughtful design. The award is unique for its focus on the qualities of buildings in use. It is about how buildings create opportunities for individuals and communities.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Architecture
Country Canada
RegDeadline 8 March 2017 GoogleCal iCal
8 March 2017 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field A building or a related group of buildings that has been completed, occupied and in use for at least two years prior to the entry deadline

Raymond Moriyama, FRAIC, the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the RAIC Foundation created the Moriyama RAIC International Prize in 2014 to raise the international stature of the RAIC and the Canadian architectural profession, and to encourage Canadian architects to aspire to international excellence.
Canadian Architect Raymond Moriyama’s vision for the Moriyama RAIC International Prize is based on his conviction that great architecture transforms society by promoting humanistic values of social justice, respect, equality and inclusiveness, and by creating environments for the well-being of all people.
The intention of this award is to celebrate a single work of architecture that is transformative, inspired as well as inspiring, and emblematic of the human values of respect and inclusiveness. The jury will consider a range of criteria in the evaluation of submissions, including:
- the building’s formal and experiential qualities
- the efficiency and effectiveness of the building in use
- response to site, climate and environmental conditions
- quality of engagement with the broader context - social, cultural, historic and political
- craftsmanship

Monica Adair, MRAIC: Co-founder of Acre Architects and 2015 Recipient of the RAIC Young Architect Award
Manon Asselin, MRAIC: Co-founder of Atelier TAG and Associate Professor of Architecture at the University of Montreal
Bryan Avery, MBE: Founder of Avery Associates Architects, London, England, author and lecturer
George Baird, FRAIC: Founding Principal of Baird Sampson Neuert Architects, former Dean of the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design at the University of Toronto, and Recipient of the 2010 RAIC Gold Medal
Peter Cardew, FRAIC: Founder of Peter Cardew Architects, and Recipient of the 2012 RAIC Gold Medal
Barry Johns, FRAIC: Jury chair, Chancellor of the College of Fellows
Li Xiaodong: Winner of the inaugural Moriyama RAIC International Prize

CAD $100,000

Entry Fee
CAD $500

The awards presentation will take place on September 19, 2017, in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Past winners

Raymond Moriyama and Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC)

Official Website