3rd Advanced Architecture Contest


708 proposals from 116 countries

First Prize
- HUBS designed by Sergio Castillo Tello and María Hernández Enríquez from Spain
- WATER FUEL designed by Rychiee Espinosa and Seth Mcdowell from the United States

4 Honourable Mentions
- "Massive Urban Recycling-Plastered Stadium", designed by Adrian Garcia from Mexico
- SKY CITY designed by Victor Kirillow from Russia
- RECIPROCITY designed by Jason Butz from the United States
- MOBILIZING VILLAGES designed by Do Trung Kien from Vietnam

View entries...


The Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia and HP are pleased to announce the 3rd Advanced Architecture Contest, on the theme of THE SELF-SUFFICIENT CITY: What will the habitat of the future be like? The aim of the competition is to promote online discussion and research through which to generate insights and visions, ideas and proposals that help us envisage what the city and the habitat of the 21st century will be like.

Category Idea Competition / Competition Result / Open to Students
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage
Genre Architecture, Urban
Country Barcelona
Registration Deadline 28 September 2009 GoogleCal iCal
Submission Deadline 28 September 2009 (via Online)
Eligibility All

Mayors and former mayors
Jordi Hereu, mayor of Barcelona
Jaime Lerner, former mayor of Curitiba and former president of the IUA

Architecture Schools
Brett Steele, director of the Architectural Association (London, UK)
Stan Allen, director of the Princeton School of Architecture (Princeton, NJ, USA)
Bob Somol, director of the School of Architecture at the University of Illinois Chicago (Chicago, IL, USA)

Yung Ho Chang (Beijing, China)
Snøhetta (Oslo, Norway)
J. M. Lin (Taipei, Taiwan)
Aaron Betsky (Cincinnati, USA)
Bostina Vuga (Ljubljana, Slovenia)

Neil Gershenfeld, physicist (MIT, Cambridge, MA, USA)
Michael Slitch, engineer (Germany)
Salvador Rueda, ecologist (Barcelona, Spain)
Alejandro Gutierres (Ove Arup, London)
Bigas Luna, film director (Spain)

Vicente Guallart, Director of the Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia.
Lucas Cappelli, Director of the Advanced Architecture Contest.
Willy Müller, Co-director, Master in Advanced Architecture
Marta Malé-Alemany, Co-director, Master in Advanced Architecture
Areti Makopoulu, Coordinator, Master in Advanced Architecture

Representative of HP
Representative of the Spanish Ministry of Housing
Representative of Generalitat de Catalunya
Representative of Actar

The three teams leaders will receive cash prizes, and a one-year grant to take the Master in Advanced Architecture at IAAC and research in greater depth the manufacture of self-sufficient architecture.

All of the projects selected will be featured in a special book produced in conjunction with the ACTAR publishing house. Click here to see past edition book

1st Prize: 3,000 € + HP printer + Master in Advanced Architecture (value 12.500,00 €)
2nd Prize: 2,000 € + HP printer + Master in Advanced Architecture (value 12.500,00 €)
3rd Prize: 1,000 € + HP printer + Master in Advanced Architecture (value 12.500,00 €)

Entry Fee

Three (3) A-3 panels

Announcement of the results: November 15th 2009

Past winners

Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia and HP

Official Website