5th Advanced Architecture Contest

The aim of this architecture competition is to promote on-line discussion and research through which to generate insights and visions, ideas and proposals that help us envisage what the city and the habitat of the 21st century will be like.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage
Genre Architecture, Urban
Country Barcelona, Spain
RegDeadline 30 September 2013 GoogleCal iCal
30 September 2013 (via Online)
Eligibility All

The programme challenges the participants to design one of these 2 options:
A- Self-sufficient building
B- Self-sufficient city
Trying to define KEY CONCEPTS for the construction of the habitat of the XXI Century, by defining a list of ideas in relation with buildings and the city of the future, to generate a vision of this idealistic possibility.
The participants will be free to decide on the size and location of the Project, which must be clearly detailed and justified.
Any time projection short (10 years), medium (50years) or long-term within the duration of the 21st century is allowed.

Aaron Betsky, Architect, Cincinnati, USA
Lucy Bullivant, Architectural Curator, UK
Lucas Cappelli, Architect, Director of the Advanced Architecture Contest
Hernan Diaz Alonzo, SCI-Arc Graduate Programs, Los Angeles, USA
Nuria Diaz, Director Valldaura, Spain
Tomas Diez, FabLab Barcelona
Manuel Gausa, Dean IaaC, Architect, Spain
Neil Gershenfeld, Physicist, MIT, Cambridge, MA, USA
Angel Gijon, Architect, Spain
Juan Herreros, Architect, School of Architecture Madrid, Spain
Daniel Ibanez, Architect, Iaac Factulty 1AAC
J. M. Lin, Architect, The Observer Design Group, Taipei, Taiwan
Mohammad Majidi, Boisar Architects, Tehran
Areti Markopoulou Architect, IaaC R&D Director
Josep Mias, MIAS Architectes, Spain
Eric Owen Moss Director, SCI-Arc; Eric Owen Moss Architects, Los Angeles, USA
Willy Muller, Architect, Director Barcelona Regional, Spain
Ramon Prat, Publisher, Director of ACTAR
Michel Rojkind, Architect, Principal Rojkind Architects, Mexico
Rodrigo Rubio, Architect Iaac Factulty, 1AAC, Spain
Enric Ruiz Geli, Principal Cloud9 Architects, Spain
Artur Serra, Anthropologist, Coordinator of Internet 2 Catalonia
Nader Tehrani, Director School of Architecture MIT, Boston, USA
Kim, Young Joon, Architect, Korea

1st Prize: 3,000 € + HP printer + Master in Advanced Architecture (value 14,750 €)
2nd Prize: 2,000 € + HP printer + Master in Advanced Architecture (value 14,750 €)
3rd Prize: 1,000 € + HP printer + Master in Advanced Architecture (value 14,750 €)
Honorable Mentions

Entry Fee

Three (3) A-3 panels

Announcement of the results: 2nd December 2013
Book Release: May 2014
International Exhibition: May 2014 - January 2015

Past winners

Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia and HP

Official Website