Shrinkage Worldwide Award 2007


Elena Giacomolli (City Empire)
David Holt (untitled)
Christopher Patten (Picnic)
Stephanie White (Vital Fluid)
Giovanna Zanghellini (Time is running out)

The entries came from Australia, Austria, Canada, China, Croatia, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Japan, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, USA, and from an array of diverse fields -both academics and practitioners- in arts, architecture, graphic design, industrial design, landscape-architecture, planning, product-design, publicity, robotics, and so-forth.

For more information click here.


Design a poster Manifesto that promotes shrinkage culture in our daily lives and in our professional thoughts + actions

Category Other Competition / Competition Result / Open to Students
Type International Poster Design Competition
Genre Art, Sustainability
Country Switzerland
Registration Deadline 19 Nov 2007 GoogleCal iCal
Submission Deadline 19 Nov 2007 (Must be Received)
Eligibility All

The goal of the awards is to seed and cultivate our shared desire for a better world. The result of the Shrinkage Worldwide Awards are multi-disciplinary, multi-use posters which explore, divulge, foster, sensitise and awaken both shrinkage culture and experience.
The completion of the Shrinkage Worldwide Awards will build the foundation for the realization of a unique, informative and educative art and design experience which contributes to the momentum of a sustainable future by providing an experience that provokes and stretches the minds of its viewers.

What Shrinkage is?
At first, we have to throw dictionaries away; then, begin to look around, sense-it, feel-it, and define-it.
Shrinkage, so-to-say the Second Renaissance, calls upon community to re-think and reassess the daily thoughts, attitudes and decisions, which go beyond the social responsibility, sustainability, green movement, and so-forth.

Christoph Eggenberger, philosopher
Lui Galati, designer and architect
Stephanie Von Fürstenberg, artist
Bettina Schulz, editor and writer
Siamak G. Shahneshin, critic
Kenneth Yeang, architect and author

Competition Type
One-Stage, Anonymous Competition

The entries will be showcased at SAP (Seeschau Art Pavilion) in Zürich and at major art and science institutions.

Entry Fee
30 EUR, and 20 EUR students (for each entry)

Digital files

Winner Announcement: 28 December 2007

Winning poster of 2005

Shahneshin Foundation

Official Website