eVolo 10 Skyscraper Competition


The Jury selected 3 winners and 27 special mentions among 430 entries from 42 countries.

First Place
Chow Khoon Toong, Ong Tien Yee, and Beh Ssi Cze, from Malaysia

Second Place
Rezza Rahdian, Erwin Setiawan, Ayu Diah Shanti, and Leonardus Chrisnantyo, from Indonesia

Third Place
Ryohei Koike and Jarod Poenisch, from the United States

View entries...


The main idea of this contest is to examine the relationship between the skyscraper and the natural world, the skyscraper and the community, and the skyscraper and urban living.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Skyscraper
Country New York, United States
RegDeadline 12 January 2010 (See "Entry Fee" below) GoogleCal iCal
18 January 2010 (via Online) GoogleCal
Eligibility All

In the last few years we have seen the development of hundreds of new skyscrapers without careful consideration of the immediate context or environment. There is a constant lack of urban planning and poor architectural design without intellectual or perceptual enjoyment. The aim of the competition is to push our imagination to redefine the term skyscraper though the use of new materials, technology, aesthetics, programs, and spatial organizations. Globalization, environmental warming, flexibility, adaptability, and the digital revolution are just some of the multi-layered elements that should be taken into consideration.
There is no restriction in regards to site, program or size. The object is to provide maximum freedom to propose the most innovative projects for this fascinating architectural genre. The ultimate goal of the designs should be to help the environment, restructure our cities and improve our way of life.

To be announced on July 13, 2009

1st place: US $2,000
2nd place: US $1,000
3rd place: US $500

Entry Fee
US $85
Early Registration: US $85 (until November 17, 2009)

Two digital boards (24" x 48" 150dpi JPG)

Timetable 2001
Winners announcement: 22 February 2010

Past winners

eVolo Architecture

Official Website