eVolo 2014 Skyscraper Competition


View entries...


Established in 2006, the annual competition is one of the world’s most prestigious awards for high-rise architecture.

Category Idea Competition / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Skyscraper
Country New York, United States
RegDeadline 14 January 2014 (See "Entry Fee" below) GoogleCal iCal
20 January 2014 (via Online) GoogleCal
Eligibility All

Established in 2006, the annual Skyscraper Competition is one of the world’s most prestigious awards for high-rise architecture. It recognizes outstanding ideas that redefine skyscraper design through the implementation of novel technologies, materials, programs, aesthetics, and spatial organizations along with studies on globalization, flexibility, adaptability, and the digital revolution. It is a forum that examines the relationship between the skyscraper and the natural world, the skyscraper and the community, and the skyscraper and the city.
The participants should take into consideration the advances in technology, the exploration of sustainable systems, and the establishment of new urban and architectural methods to solve economic, social, and cultural problems of the contemporary city including the scarcity of natural resources and infrastructure and the exponential increase of inhabitants, pollution, economic division, and unplanned urban sprawl.
The competition is an investigation on the public and private space and the role of the individual and the collective in the creation of a dynamic and adaptive vertical community. It is also a response to the exploration and adaptation of new habitats and territories based on a dynamic equilibrium between man and nature – a new kind of responsive and adaptive design capable of intelligent growth through the self-regulation of its own systems.
There are no restrictions in regards to site, program or size. The objective is to provide maximum freedom to the participants to engage the project without constraints in the most creative way. What is a skyscraper in the 21st century? What are the historical, contextual, social, urban, and environmental responsibilities of these mega-structures?

Wiel Arets [principal Wiel Arets Architects, dean of the Illinois Institute of Technology’s College of Architecture]
Benjamin Ball [principal Ball-Nogues Studio]
John Beckman [principal Axis Mundi]
Mark Goulthorpe [principal dECOi Architects, HypoSurface Corp, Zero+, SMArchS]
Michael Hensel [principal AKNW + NAL, professor at Oslo School of Architecture]
Jeffrey Inaba [principal INABA, professor at Columbia University]
Lisa Iwamoto [principal IwamotoScott Architecture, professor at University of California Berkeley]
Greg Lynn [principal Greg Lynn FORM, professor at University of Applied Arts Vienna, University of California Los Angeles, Yale University]
Frashid Moussavi [principal Frashid Moussavi Architecture, professor Harvard University]
Gaston Nogues [principal Ball-Nogues Studio]
Marcos Novak [director transLAB at University of California Santa Barbara ]
Kas Oosterhuis [principal Oosterhuis-Lénárd, professor at Delft University of Technology]
Derek Pirozzi [architectural designer Oppenheim Architecture + Design, first place 2013 eVolo Skyscraper Competition]
Tom Price [principal Tom Price]
Ali Rahim [director Contemporary Architecture Practice, professor at University of Pennsylvania]
Fernando Romero [principal FR-EE]
Craig Scott [principal IwamotoScott Architecture, professor at California College of the Arts]
Nader Tehrani [principal NADAAA, professor and department head at MIT School of Architecture and Planning ]
Ben van Berkel [principal UNStudio, professor at Staedelschule in Frankfurt, Harvard University ]
Carol Willis [director Skyscraper Museum, professor at Columbia University]
Dan Wood [principal WORK Architecture Company, professor at Yale University]

1st place: US $5000
2nd place: US $2000
3rd place: US $1000

Entry Fee
Early Registration: US $65 until November 19, 2013
Late Registration: US $85 from November 20, 2013 to January 14, 2014

Two boards (24″ X 48″) and a DOC file containing the project statement (600 words max)

Winners’ announcement: March 17, 2014

Past winners


Official Website