eVolo 2016 Skyscraper Competition

Established in 2006, the annual competition is one of the world’s most prestigious awards for high-rise architecture.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Skyscraper
Country New York, United States
RegDeadline 19 January 2016 (See "Entry Fee" below) GoogleCal iCal
26 January 2016 (via Online) GoogleCal
Eligibility All

eVolo Magazine is pleased to invite architects, students, engineers, designers, and artists from around the globe to take part in the 2016 Skyscraper Competition. Established in 2006, the annual Skyscraper Competition is one of the world’s most prestigious awards for high-rise architecture. It recognizes outstanding ideas that redefine skyscraper design through the implementation of novel technologies, materials, programs, aesthetics, and spatial organizations along with studies on globalization, flexibility, adaptability, and the digital revolution. It is a forum that examines the relationship between the skyscraper and the natural world, the skyscraper and the community, and the skyscraper and the city.
The participants should take into consideration the advances in technology, the exploration of sustainable systems, and the establishment of new urban and architectural methods to solve economic, social, and cultural problems of the contemporary city including the scarcity of natural resources and infrastructure and the exponential increase of inhabitants, pollution, economic division, and unplanned urban sprawl.
The competition is an investigation on the public and private space and the role of the individual and the collective in the creation of a dynamic and adaptive vertical community. It is also a response to the exploration and adaptation of new habitats and territories based on a dynamic equilibrium between man and nature – a new kind of responsive and adaptive design capable of intelligent growth through the self-regulation of its own systems.

Matias del Campo [principal SPAN]
Thom Faulders [principal Faulders Studio]
Greg Lynn [principal Greg Lynn Form]
Marcelo Spina [principal PATTERNS]
Skylar Tibbits [principal SJET]

1st place: US $5000 + press kit distribution by v2com
2nd place: US $2000
3rd place: US $1000

Entry Fee
Early Registration: US $95 until November 17, 2015
Late Registration: US $135 from November 18, 2015 to January 19, 2016

Two boards (24″ X 48″) and a DOC file containing the project statement (600 words max)

Winners’ announcement: March 22, 2016

Past winners


Official Website