The Structural Awards 2019


View entries...


This hotly-contested accolade is presented to the year’s finest example of structural engineering design.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage
Genre Structure
Country London, UK
RegDeadline 17 April 2019 GoogleCal iCal
17 April 2019 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field The project must be completed, or be due for completion, between 16 April 2018 and 17 April 2019.

The Award for Tall or Slender Structures
The Award for Long Span Structures
The Award for Vehicle Bridges
The Award for Pedestrian Bridges
The Award for Small Projects (of under £1 million)
The Award for Small Projects (of between £1-3 million)
The Award for Structures in Extreme Conditions
The Award for Structural Heritage
The Award for Structural Transformation
The Award for Construction Innovation
The Award for Construction Integration
The Award for Structural Artistry
The Award for Outstanding Value
The Award for Sustainability

Prof Tim Ibell, President of The Institution of Structural Engineers in 2015, and a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering
Kayin Dawoodi, a Senior Structural Engineer and Business Developer at Sweco Sweden
Tanya de Hoog, a founding director of Thornton Tomasetti’s London office
Prof Jiemin Ding, the Chief Engineer of Tongji Architectural Design (Group) Co., Ltd
Paul Fast, a founder of Fast + Epp
Ian Firth, a Past President of The Institution of Structural Engineers
Tristram Hope, the founder and Chairman of independent construction consultancy THiSolutions Ltd
Martin Knight, Knight Architects
Toby Maclean, TALL Engineers
Michelle McDowell, a Principal at BDP
Dr Andrew Minson, Director of Concrete and Sustainable Construction at the Global Cement and Concrete Association
Simon Pitchers, a Director of Arc Bauen
Sam Price, Price & Myers with Robert Myers
Julia Ratcliffe, an independent Structural Engineering consultant
Roger Ridsdill Smith, the Head of the Structural Engineering team at Foster + Partners
Prof Su Taylor, a Professor of Structural Engineering and Dean of Research for the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Science, at Queen’s University Belfast
Peter Terrell, founder and President of Terrell Group Consulting Engineer


Entry Fee
£295 + VAT per project

Past winners

The Institution of Structural Engineers

Official Website