Vision Competition - STREET 2020


1st prize
– pseudonym „Peer-to-Peer“
Authors: Warren Techentin Architecture (WTARCH): Warren Techentin, Brent Nishimoto, Christina Hwang, Andrew Kim, Ahad Basravi, Carrie Smith, Aaron Yip

2nd prize
– pseudonym „The Urban Lobby“
Authors: Kenneth Li, Mark Craven, Fraser Moor

3rd prize
– pseudonym „Street Magnetism“
Authors: Kristi Grišakov (Aalto University Centre for Urban & Regional Studies), Liis Bormeister, Kristjan Männigo, Joonas Saan / OÜ Ars Projekt

– pseudonym „Jack the Rabbit“
Author: Pawel Artur Pietkun

– pseudonym „Le Corb“
Authors: Joanna-Maria Helinurm, Michael Thomas Lamprides II

– pseudonym „Meter and Demeter“
Author: Alvin Järving

View entries...


What kind of urban space Tallinn needs?

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Transportation, Urban
Country Estonia
RegDeadline 17 June 2011 GoogleCal iCal
17 June 2011 (Must be Received)
Eligibility This competition’s task is to describe the connected, compatible and diverse urban landscape, focusing on one particular urban typology: the street.

Tallinn Architecture Biennale is a new architecture forum that brings together theory and practice, young and experienced architects in order to arouse rich discussion over architecture, urban planning and landscape issues. First TAB concentrates on the hybrid issue of Landscape Urbanism. TAB Vision Competition is addressed to students and young architects, landscape architects and planners who are welcome to shape future cities and make room for fresh ideas.
Our hope is to see landscape urbanism as so-called ‘thirdway’, which can possibly solve urban problems that have proved too difficult for traditional planning because of rapid processes, constant change and instability. Landscape urbanism could also provide answers how to guide urban processes from inside, so that the system as a whole still maintains a balance. The term ’landscape’ is used primarily as the model for consistency, responsiveness and scale.

Eva Castro, Architect (AA School, Plasmastudio, Groundlab)
Endrik Mänd, Chief Architect (Tallinn City Government)
Jury Secretary: Kaire Pärnpuu (Estonian Architecture Centre)

First prize: € 3000
Second prize: € 2000
Third prize: € 1000
7 honourable mentions

Entry Fee

Explanation letter max 1 A4
A maximum of two (2) boards, size A1

Submission Address
Estonian Architecture Centre
Lai 31
10133 Tallinn

Results announced: 8 July 2011
Exhibition: August – September 2011

Architecture Estonian Architecture Centre, City of Tallinn

Official Website