We seeks to unearth new approaches to connecting, form, space, and materiality with innovative notions of interiority and exteriority at various scales.

Category Award / Open to Students
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage , Anonymous
Genre Architecture, Interior, Landscape, Product, Urban
Country New York, United States
RegDeadline 1 Ocotober 2015 GoogleCal iCal
15 Ocotober 2015(via Online) GoogleCal
Eligibility All
Target Field Unbuilt work of any project type

Unbuilt Visions promotes critical debate about architecture and design by acknowledging excellence in unbuilt projects. This annual competition provides an opportunity to engage with architecture, urbanism, interiors, and designed objects at the conceptual stage by recognizing work that offers a critical contribution to worldwide architectural discourse.
Unbuilt Visions recognizes excellence in projects that to date remain unbuilt. Theoretical, academic, and other unbuilt projects will be juried and awarded by a distinguished international panel of architects, designers, theorists, and historians. All projects submitted to the competition will be considered for publication in ‘Unbuilt Visions I’, the first volume in a series that will collect, curate, and document transitions in unbuilt architecture and design.

Jungwoo Ji, Ryann Aoukar, Phuttipan Aswalkool, Fancis Bitionti, Cressica Brazier, Erin Carraher, Sarah Deyong, Tobias Holler, Fank Jacobus, Ji Young Kim, Margaret Kirk, Marc Manack, Gregory Marinic, Kevin McCiellan, Sandra McKee, Daved Nguyen, Vtor Nieto Villal, Obnat ktem, Zeynep ktem, Ana Pelba, Angela Person, Ziad Qureshi, Arnoldo Sanchez, Karl Smith, Irina Solovyova, Lisa Tilder, Mark Titman, Hiroki Yoshihara, Liam Young, Wing Yun

Grand Prize: $ 500 each
Special Mention: Urban design, Architecture, Interior Architecture, Deployable/ Light Architectures, Landscape Architecture/ Urbanism, Modular/ Industrial Design

Entry Fee
$50 USD/entry

Two Presentation Boards (60cm x 100cm)

Jury convenes: November 2015
Results announced: December 2015
Summary publication: TBD

Past winners


Official Website