UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards 2008


45 entries, from 13 countries

Award of Excellence
- Herat Old City in Afghanistan
- Stadium Merdeka in Malaysia

Award of Distinction
- National Pass in the Blue Mountains, New South Wales, Australia
- Fujian Earth Buildings in Fujian Province, China
- Suffolk House in Penang, Malaysia

Award of Merit
- Vysial Street in Pondicherry, India
- Shigar Historic Settlements and Bazaar Area in the Northern Areas, Pakistan
- Wat Pongsanuk in Lampang, Thailand

Honorable Mention
- Béthanie in Hong Kong SAR, China
- Archiepiscopal Palace in Goa, India,
- Craigie Burn Bungalow in Matheran, India, Bach 38 in Rangitoto Island, Auckland, New Zealand
- Amphawa Canal Community in Amphawa District, Samut Songkhram Province, Thailand
- Crown Property Bureau Building in Chachoengsao Province, Thailand

More information and project entries...


The 2008 Heritage Awards programme, in its ninth year, recognizes the achievement of individuals and organizations within the private sector, and public-private initiatives, in successfully restoring structures of heritage value in the Asia-Pacific region.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International, Architectural Heritage Awards, Open
Genre Conservation
Country Asia-Pacific
RegDeadline 31 March 2008 GoogleCal iCal
31 March 2008 (Must be Received)
Eligibility All
Target Field To be considered for the Awards, the conserved or restored building or buildings must be over 50 years old. The works must have been completed within the last 10 years and before the announcement date of the awards (i.e. the project must have been complet

Projects involving buildings more than fifty years old and which were completed within the last ten years are eligible for consideration. Houses, commercial, cultural, religious, industrial or institutional buildings, gardens and bridges, for example, are all eligible for consideration. Public-private partnership projects such as historic towns, urban quarters and rural settlements where the essential elements are more than 50 years old are all eligible.

In addition to the established awards the "Jury Commendation for Innovation", introduced in 2005, will also be judged. The commendation recognizes newly-built structures which demonstrate outstanding standards for contemporary architectural design which are well integrated into historic contexts.

The Jury shall be composed of
1 representative from UNESCO, and
6-8 international conservation experts renowned for their knowledge of conservation in the Asia-Pacific Region.

Judging Process

Award of Excellence
Award of Distinction
Award of Merit
Honorable Mention

Entry Fee

Winners announced: September 2008

Past winners


Official Website