The 2014 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation

The awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation recognize the achievement of the private sector and public-private initiatives in successfully conserving or restoring structures, places and properties of heritage value in the region.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Conservation
Country Bangkok, Thailand
RegDeadline 31 March 2014 30 April 2014 GoogleCal iCal
31 March 2014 30 April 2014 (Must be Received)
Eligibility All
Target Field The work must have been completed within the preceding 10 years. (See "Eligibility for the Awards" below)

Eligibility for the Awards
- To be considered for the Awards, the conserved or restored heritage structure, place or property must be over 50 years old. For settlements and landscapes, the essential historic elements must be more than 50 years old.
- The following are eligible for consideration: residential, commercial and institutional buildings; religious properties; urban and rural settlements/historic towns and villages; archaeological heritage; cultural landscapes, parks and gardens; military properties; modern heritage; agricultural, industrial and technological properties; burial monuments and sites; cultural routes; vernacular architecture; and symbolic properties and memorials.
- The project must be the result of private sector initiative or public-private partnership. The involvement of private individuals or organizations in terms of ownership, tenancy, financing or other contributions to the project should be clear. Projects which are financed, owned and undertaken wholly by government entities are not eligible.
- The work must have been completed within the preceding 10 years at the time of submission. For buildings with a new use, the project must also have been occupied or put to viable use for at least one year at the time of submission.
- Entries which have been previously submitted will not be eligible for resubmission unless invited to do so by the Jury, or unless substantial additional restoration has been carried out since the previous submission.

The Jury shall be composed of
- 1 representative from UNESCO
- 8-10 international conservation experts renowned for their knowledge of conservation in the Asia-Pacific region


Entry Fee

Description, Drawings, Photographs

Submission Address
Culture Unit
UNESCO Bangkok
920 Sukhumvit Road
Bangkok 10110, Thailand

Past winners


Official Website