2014 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize

This prize is awarded biennially for an innovative architectural or design solution that has preserved or enhanced a modern landmark or group of landmarks.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Conservation
Country New York, United States
RegDeadline 30 June 2014 GoogleCal iCal
30 June 2014 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field Nominated projects must have been completed in the last five years.

World Monuments Fund (WMF) invites nominations for the 2014 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize, which will be awarded this fall to a design professional or firm in recognition of innovative design solutions that preserved and saved a modern landmark at risk. The biennial prize was established to raise public awareness of the contribution modernism makes to contemporary life, the important place modernism holds in the architectural record, and the influential role that architects and designers play in preserving modern heritage.
The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize recognizes heroic efforts that preserve our modern heritage. Projects that enhanced a site’s architectural, functional, economic, and environmental sustainability while also benefiting the community are encouraged. Nominated projects must have been completed in the last five years.

The jury is chaired by Barry Bergdoll, Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University and Acting Chief Curator of Architecture and Design, MoMA.

- A cash honorarium of $10,000
- A Knoll® Barcelona® chair
- Round-trip airfare and hotel accommodations in New York City to attend an awards dinner and present the project at a lecture at the Museum of Modern Art
- Media promotion of the winning project by the WMF Communications Department

Entry Fee

A narrative description (up to 500 words) and Six photos of the modern landmark

Past winners

World Monuments Fund

Official Website