2016 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize


View entries...


This prize recognizes outstanding and innovative design solutions that save modern icons.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Conservation
Country New York, United States
RegDeadline 15 July 2016 GoogleCal iCal
15 July 2016 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field Nominated projects must have been completed in the last five years.

Forward-thinking. Experimental. Bold. Progressive. Innovative. Once recognized for their defining characteristics, significant modernist sites around the world are victims of physical deterioration of materials, perceived obsolescence, and public apathy. These threats repeatedly result in inappropriate alterations or demolition. With many modern buildings too young to qualify for landmark designation and protection, the need for preservation is urgent.
In 2008, we launched the biennial World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize to recognize the individuals and organizations that preserve our modern built heritage through innovative architectural or design solutions. At-risk modern buildings can and do remain sustainable structures with vital futures; visionary architects, designers, planners, and community leaders play a paramount role in ensuring those futures.
The prize is a component of our Modernism at Risk initiative, which supports the preservation of modern architecture through advocacy and conservation projects. Both the prize and the Modernism at Risk initiative were launched with the support of founding sponsor Knoll.

An independent jury of architectural scholars, conservators, and professionals in related fields will select the prize winner. The jury will be chaired by Barry Bergdoll, Curator, Department of Architecture and Design, MoMA.

- A cash honorarium of $10,000
- A Knoll® Barcelona® chair
- Round-trip airfare and hotel accommodations to attend the prize presentation and jury dinner

Entry Fee

Three Descriptions (200- 500 words) and Six photos

The award ceremony: Fall of 2016 at The Museum of Modern Art in New York

Past winners

World Monuments Fund

Official Website