World Habitat Awards 2008


Winning Projects
- Community Land Trust Innovation / Champlain Housing Trust, USA
- Preventing Typhoon Damage to Housing / Development Workshop, VIET NAM

Ten Outstanding Finalists
- Complejo Monteagudo / Cooperativa Emetele, ARGENTINA
- Habitat para la Mujer / Comunidad Maria Auxiliadora, BOLIVIA
- La Regularización Fundiaria Sostenible como Instrumento de Transformación Social / Terra Nova Regularizações Fundiárias, BRASIL
- Streets to Homes / City of Toronto, CANADA
- Sustainable Housing in Europe (SHE) / Federabitazione, ITALY
- Cheap and Clean Electric House Heating for the Poor in Bishkek / Habitat Foundation, KYRGYZSTAN
- Shack Dwellers Federation of Namibia / Namibia Housing Action Group (NHAG), NAMIBIA
- De Dichterlijke Vrijheid (DDV) / Rotterdam Development Corporation, THE NETHERLANDS
- Bydel St. Hanshaugen Projects for Vulnerable Groups / Bydel St. Hanshaugen, NORWAY
- Post-tsunami Reconstruction & Rehabilitation in Sri Lanka / Practical Action, SRI LANKA

Further information on the winning projects...


The World Habitat Awards were established in 1985 by the Building and Social Housing Foundation as part of its contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless. Two awards are given annually to projects from the global North as well as the South that provide practical and innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems. An award of £10,000 is presented to each of the two winners at the annual United Nations global celebration of World Habitat Day.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International Sustainable Housing Award
Genre Housing
Country UK
Registration Deadline 1 June 2008 GoogleCal iCal
Submission Deadline 1 June 2008 (via Online)
Eligibility All

Projects are sought that:
- Demonstrate practical, innovative and sustainable solutions to current housing issues faced by countries of the North as well as the South.
- Can be transferred or adapted for use as appropriate.
- View the term habitat from a broad perspective and bring other benefits as well, for example, energy or water saving, income generation, social inclusion, community and individual empowerment, capacity building and education.

Not yet announced

Judging Process

£10,000 total

Entry Fee

by entry form

Notification of results for Stage I submissions: 1st September 2008
Deadline for Stage II submission: 1st December 2008
Evaluation of Stage II submissions: January - June 2009
Announcement of winners: August 2009
Presentation of the Awards on World Habitat Day: 5th October 2009

Past winners

Building and Social Housing Foundation

Official Website