World Habitat Awards 2010

The Awards were established with the aim not only of identifying innovative and sustainable examples of housing practice but also of sharing and transferring the award-winning approaches where possible and appropriate.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Two-Stage, Onymous
Genre Housing, Sustainability
Country UK
RegDeadline 1 November 2010 GoogleCal iCal
1 November 2010 (via Online)
Eligibility All

The World Habitat Awards were established in 1985 by the Building and Social Housing Foundation as part of its contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless.
Two awards are given annually to projects from the global North as well as the South that provide practical and innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems.
Every year an award of £10,000 is presented to each of the two winners at the annual United Nations global celebration of World Habitat Day. Travel and accommodation costs are also met for one representative of each winning project to attend the awards ceremony.

Not yet announced

£10,000 total

Entry Fee

Stage I submissions need only comprise a concise summary of all aspects of the project.

Notification of results for Stage I submissions: 1 December 2010
Deadline for Stage II submission: 1 February 2011
Announcement of winners: August 2011
Presentation of the Awards on World Habitat Day: 3 October 2011

Past winners

Building and Social Housing Foundation

Official Website