World Habitat Awards 2011/12

The Awards were established with the aim not only of identifying innovative and sustainable examples of housing practice but also of sharing and transferring the award-winning approaches where possible and appropriate.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Two-Stage , Onymous
Genre Housing, Sustainability
Country UK
RegDeadline 1 November 2011 GoogleCal iCal
1 November 2011 (via Online)
Eligibility All

The World Habitat Awards were established in 1985 by the Building and Social Housing Foundation as part of its contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless.
Two awards are given annually to projects that provide practical and innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems, from the global South as well as the North.
Every year an award of £10,000 is presented to each of the two winners at the annual United Nations global celebration of World Habitat Day.

Not yet announced

£10,000 total

Entry Fee

Stage I submissions need only comprise a summary of the key aspects of the project.

Notification of results for Stage I submissions: 1 December 2011
Deadline for Stage II submission: 1 February 2012
Announcement of winners: August 2012
Presentation of the Awards on World Habitat Day: 1 October 2012

Past winners

Building and Social Housing Foundation

Official Website