World Habitat Awards 2018

The Awards were established with the aim not only of identifying innovative and sustainable examples of housing practice but also of sharing and transferring the award-winning approaches where possible and appropriate.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Housing, Sustainability
Country UK
RegDeadline 31 March 2018 GoogleCal iCal
31 March 2018 (via Online)
Eligibility All

The Awards were established in 1985 for the identification and the promotion of good habitat practices. They were initiated in 1987 as World Habitat contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless. The concept of identification of good practice was virtually unknown in 1985 and the Awards were supposed to run over three years only. However, the response was so positive that World Habitat decided to keep the competition running. After 30 years, the World Habitat Awards are going from strength to strength.
Over the years, a large range of excellent habitat projects were identified in the countries of the global North and the global South. These projects of different sizes and shapes tackle a wide range of housing issues. From the very beginning, the focus has been not only on the identification of good housing practices but also in the sharing of knowledge and experience to others who can transfer them in their own situations. The first international peer exchange to a World Habitat Award project winner was in 1987 and the exchanges have continued ever since.

Not yet announced

A prize of £10,000 is made to each of the two winning projects

Entry Fee

English, Spanish or French

Announcement of winners: February 2018

Past winners

Building and Social Housing Foundation

Official Website