2020 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize

This prize recognizes heroic efforts made for the preservation of our modern heritage. Projects that enhanced a site’s architectural, functional, economic, and environmental sustainability while also benefiting the community are encouraged.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Conservation
Country New York, United States
RegDeadline 15 June 2020 GoogleCal iCal
15 June 2020 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field Nominated projects must have been completed in the last five years.

Forward-thinking. Experimental. Bold. Progressive. Innovative. Once recognized for these defining characteristics, significant modern sites around the world often fall victim to material deterioration, perceived obsolescence, and public apathy. These threats repeatedly result in inappropriate alterations or demolition. As many modern buildings are too young to qualify for landmark designation and protection, the need for preservation and increased public awareness of these unique resources is urgent.
WMF launched the biennial World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize with founding sponsor Knoll in 2008 to recognize the individuals and organizations that preserve our modern built heritage through pioneering architectural or design solutions. The prize honors contemporary architects, designers, planners, and community leaders whose work ensures sustainable futures for at-risk modern heritage.
The prize is part of WMF’s broader programming that addresses these challenges facing modern sites through advocacy, education, and conservation, including the World Monuments Watch and Modern Century. The prize stemmed from WMF’s Modernism at Risk initiative, created in 2006 in response to the increasing threats to modern buildings identified above.
The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize recognizes outstanding efforts to preserve modern heritage. Projects that enhance a site’s architectural, functional, economic, and environmental sustainability while benefiting the community are encouraged.

An independent jury of architectural scholars, conservators, and professionals in related fields will select the prize winner.
The jury is chaired by Barry Bergdoll, Meyer Schapiro Professor of Art History and Archaeology at Columbia University.

A cash honorarium of $10,000
A Knoll® Barcelona® chair
Round-trip airfare and hotel accommodations in New York City for the prize winner to attend the award ceremony

Entry Fee
Early nominations are due May 15, 2020. All nominations are due by June 15, 2020.

The prize winner will be announced in fall 2020.
The award ceremony will be held at the The Museum of Modern Art on December 2020.

Past winners

World Monuments Fund

Official Website