Zerofootprint Building Re-Skinning Competition

The competition will drive the state-of-the-art in retrofitting the built space – in design, materials, technology, and in saleable retrofitting systems. The top 5 finalists will receive a cash prize, and will then execute their planned retrofits, which will be entered into a grand prize competition based on the actual monitoring of their environmental performance.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Two-Stage, Onymous
Genre Renovation
Country Ontario, Canada
RegDeadline 1 July 2009 GoogleCal iCal
1 July 2009
Eligibility All

By an increasingly wide margin, the largest emission of greenhouse gases in our cities comes from the operation of our buildings — commercial and residential. It is clear, then, that any solution to climate change will by definition have to be a solution to the built space in our cities. Rebuilding is not an option and traditional retrofitting is inadequate, and invasive. There is however another option—re-skinning. Usually necessary because a thermal barrier needs to be created to gain any significant energy efficiency, re-skinning has many other advantages. Skinning isn't new, but it has never been done on the scale required to address climate change. So, how do we push the state-of-the-art quickly enough to implement this idea?
The energy consumption and carbon emissions of the completed projects will be monitored for a period of two years following the implementation of the retrofit. The "real-time" performance of these buildings will be published on the Internet to provide not only inspiration, but living proof of the concept of re-skinning to achieve a zero footprint. The winning entry will be awarded the Z-Prize, the year’s largest architectural prize.

Margaret Atwood (Canadian Writer, Poet, Environmentalist and Activist)
George Baird (Dean of the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design and Professor of Architecture at the University of Toronto, and partner Baird Sampson Neuert Architects)
Philip Beesley (MRAIC OAA B.Arch. Dip. Tech. B.F.A.)
Shirley Blumberg (OAA, FRAIC, AIA, Founding Partner KPMB)
Edward Burtynsky (Canadian Photographer, artist and environmentalist)
Andrew Bowerbank (Executive Director, World Green Building Council)
Geoff Cape (Executive Director, Evergreen)
David Daniels (Principle, Daniels Capital Group)
Judith DiMaio (AIA, Dean School of Architecture & Design, New York Institute of Technology)
Sara Diamond (President, Ontario College of Art and Design)
Luigi Ferrara (Director of the School of Design, George Brown College and Chairman of the Architectural Literacy Forum)
Alan Greenberg (Director, Minto Urban Communities)
David Hughes (President of Pathways to Education Canada; Ex President & CEO of Habitat for Humanity Canada)
Chris Kennedy (P.Eng. Associate Professor, the Department of Civil Engineering, University of Toronto)
Ted J. Kesik (P.Eng. Professor of Building Science, John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design, University of Toronto)
Mary MacDonald (Senior Advisor- Climate Change, City of Toronto Mayor’s Office)
Andrei Marcu (Advisor, Climate Change and Emissions Trading, Bennett Jones LLP)
Roger Martin (Dean, Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto)
Mark Mitchell (Manager- Mechanical and Electrical Engineering Group, Stantec Consulting)
Frank Mruk (AIA, RIBA, LEED Accredited, Associate Dean School of Architecture & Design, New York Institute of Technology)
Andrew Pride (Vice-President, Minto Energy Management)
Donald Schmitt (Principal, Diamond & Schmitt Architects)
Tim Stoate (Associate Director, Mandate Related Finance, Toronto Atmospheric Fund)
Alastair J. S. Summerlee (President and Vice Chancellor, University of Guelph)

The top 5 finalists: a cash prize

Entry Fee

Competition launches at OCE’s Discovery ’09 Event: May 11-12, 2009
Judging completed, 5 finalist selected for Z-Prize: September 1, 2009
Shovel-ready date: September 30, 2009
Finalist project construction completed, energy monitoring and reporting begins: March 31, 2011
Energy monitoring completed, Z-Prize winner announced: March 31, 2013


Official Website