Zumtobel Group Award for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment 2014


View entries...


The award is designed to honour sustainable solutions in architecture and engineering that make a pioneering contribution to the future quality of life.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International, Award, Open
Genre Sustainability
Country Austria
RegDeadline 30 November 2013 GoogleCal iCal
30 November 2013 (via Online)
Eligibility All
Target Field In the Buildings category submissions can include outstanding building projects that have been completed within the last two years.

As a result of its long experience of networking with leading architects, engineers and lighting designers, the Zumtobel Group knows that visionary solutions in architecture and urban planning can help reduce global energy consumption and at the same time improve the general quality of life.

Against the backdrop of the finite nature of natural resources and in order to live up to its own high standards, the Zumtobel Group has announced the Zumtobel Group Award - Innovations for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment for the fourth time. By doing so, the company is seeking to stimulate new developments and concepts in the built environment.

In the past, the Award was presented in two categories. For the 2014 submission a third category has been added to sharpen the focus on urban developments and applied innovations in the built environment.

The three categories, each sponsored by a Zumtobel Group brand, are:

Buildings (Zumtobel)
Urban Developments & Initiatives (Thorn)
Applied Innovations (Tridonic)

Kunlé Adeyemi: Architect, NLÉ Shaping the Architecture of Developing Cities, Amsterdam (NL)
Yung Ho Chang: Architect, Atelier FCJZ, Beijing (CN)
Brian Cody: Chair of the Institute of Buildings and Energy, Graz University of Technology (AT)Elisabeth Diller: Architect, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, New York City (USA)
Bjarke Ingels: Architect, Bjarke Ingels Group (BIG), Kopenhagen (DK)
Winy Maas: Architect / MVRDV, Rotterdam (NL)
Ulrich Schumacher: CEO Zumtobel Group (from 1 October 2013), Dornbirn (AT)
Kazuyo Sejima: Architect / SANAA, Tokyo (JP)
Peter Sloterdijk: Philosopher, Dean of Hochschule für Gestaltung, Karlsruhe (DE)
Rainer Walz: Head of Competence Center Sustainability and Infrastructure Systems, Fraunhofer ISI Karlsruhe (DE)

Buildings (presented by Zumtobel): EUR 60,000
Urban Developments & Initiatives (presented by Thorn): EUR 40,000
Applied Innovations (presented by Tridonic): EUR 40,000

Entry Fee

Past winners

The Zumtobel Group

Official Website