Architectural Award Building-Integrated Solar Technology 2011


View entries...


We hopes that the award will encourage the planning and designing of excellent building-integrated solar power systems, and thus showcase exemplary solutions in qualitatively sophisticated architecture.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage, Onymous
Genre Technology
Country Germany
RegDeadline 30 June 2011 GoogleCal iCal
31 July 2011 (Must be Received) GoogleCal
Eligibility All architects, owners/operators and solar technology companies
Target Field The system must have gone into operation, i.e. supplied the first provable energy, within the period from 1st January 2008 to 30th June 2011.

The use of solar energy in and on buildings is a key aspect within energy efficient construction – for individual homes, industrial and administrative buildings, as well as residential schemes. Solar systems should be self-evident components in innovative building envelopes and refurbishments to improve energy efficiency.
The challenge is to find suitable ways to implement these technical innovations in design terms. Solar thermal energy and photovoltaics open up a diverse range of possible applications and offer high quality products.

Thomas Auer (Transsolar, Stuttgart)
Gerd Becker (Member of the Board, SeV; Munich University of Applied Sciences)
Françoise-Helénè Jourda (Technical University Vienna, Jourda Architectes Paris)
Beat Kämpfen (Architect, Zurich)
Roland Krippner (Georg Simon Ohm University of Applied Sciences, Nuremberg)
Matthias Rommel (Hochschule für Technik, Rapperswil)
Bruno Schiebelsberger (Chairman of the Board, SeV)
Christian Schittich (Editor DETAIL)

1st Prize: 15,000 EUR
the solar system is for private, commercial, industrial or
public purposesCommendation Awards: totalling 10,000 EUR

Entry Fee

At least 5 images of the project, Project description, Costs of the solar power system etc.

Submission Address
Mr Fabian Flade
Elisabethstr. 34
80796 Munich

Jury Consultation: October 2011
Award Ceremony: January 2012

Past winners


Official Website