Union Station 2020 - Chicago Architectural Club 2008 Burnham Prize


1st Prize
Michael Cady, Elba Gil ,David Lillie, Andres Montana: Chicago, IL

2nd Prize
Cheyne Owens: Cambridge, MA

3rd Prize
Lindsay Grote: Chicago, IL

FRPO Arquitectura + Urbanismo: Madrid, Spain
Gabriel Belli Butler, Pasquale Tuttolomondo: Rome, Italy
Duliao Studio: Beijing, China
Casimir Kujawa, Mason Pritchett, Patrick Johnson: Chicago, IL
Xiao Min Du , Wei Lun Huang : Toronto, Canada
Jeeyong An, Hosung Chun, Sang Hwa Lee of GinsengChicken: New York
Sascha Oroz: Chicago, IL

source: http://www.chicagoarchitecturalclub.org/competitions/results.aspx


The Chicago Architectural Club and the Chicago Humanities Festival announce UNION STATION 2020, an international design ideas competition for the conversion of Chicago’s Union Station into a high-speed rail hub, regional market, and meeting place.

Category Idea Competition / Open to Students / Competition Result
Type International, Idea, Open, Single-Stage, Anonymous
Genre Complex, Station
Country Chicago, United States
RegDeadline 15 October 2008 GoogleCal iCal
15 October 2008 (via Online)
Eligibility All

This year’s Burnham Prize competition forms part of Burnham 2.0: A Patchwork Plan for Chicago, a composite urban plan that marks the centennial of Burnham and Bennett’s Plan of Chicago.

UNION STATION 2020 asks for innovative solutions for the transformation of Union Station into a center of high speed rail traffic and related programs. It is not simply a question of designing an efficient and functional transit hub. How can this intermodal node become more than a mere knot of infrastructure? What role can this project play in the reconfiguration of Chicago’s West Loop and of the city and region? How can an existing landmark building be transformed to accommodate and generate a new combination of activities while welcoming an unprecedented level of rail traffic? How can we leverage infrastructure to produce other results, to shape the city and the public sphere? How can a point of exchange generate a regional culture? And what does ‘culture’ mean, anyway?

Stan Allen (Principal of Stan Allen Architect; Brooklyn in NY, Dean of Princeton University School of Architecture)
Doug Garofalo (President of Garofalo Architects, Inc.; Chicago, IL)
Geoff Manaugh (Author of BLDGBLOG and senior editor of Dwell magazine)
Bruce Mau (confirmation pending)(Principal of Bruce Mau Design; Chicago, IL)
Zoka Zola (Principal of Zoka Zola Architecture and Urban Design; Chicago, IL)

First Prize: $10,000
Second Prize: $3,000
Third Prize: $1,500
Up to 3 Honorable Mentions

Entry Fee
Professionals: $80
Students: $50

Two (2) boards @ 24”x 36” (60.9cm x 91.4cm) in PDF format and a written statement of no more than 300 words

Winners Announced at Public Event, Chicago History Museum: November 8, 2008

The Chicago Architectural Club

Official Website