Steedman Fellowship 2008


Nikole Renee Bouchard

Runner Up
Gabriel Bergeron
Jason Johnson
Scott Snyder

Honorable Mention
John Bruenning
Maria Eva Contesti
Sabina Santovetti

You can find winning entries here.


The Steedman Fellowship, granted since 1925, is awarded biannually on the basis of an International Design Competition.

Category Award / Competition Result
Type Architectural Fellowship
Genre Free-Theme
Country St. Louis
RegDeadline 3 February 2008 GoogleCal iCal
15 March 2008 (Must be Received) GoogleCal
Eligibility Candidates must be graduates of an accredited school of architecture, and be currently employed in, or have completed at least one year of practical experience in the office of a practicing architect. Candidates are eligible to compete for up to eight yea

The Competition is supported by an endowment given to the Washington University College School of Architecture in honor of James Harrison Steedman, who received a degree in mechanical engineering from Washington University in 1889. He was a decorated veteran of World War I, and passed away at the family's home in Montecito, California in 1921. The memorial was established by Steedman's widow, Mrs. Alexander Weddel, and Steedman's brother, George.

Not yet announced

Travel for architectural research and study in foreign countries for a period of nine months. The $30,000 Fellowship is awarded to the winner.

Entry Fee
US $75
Once you have registered and your payment of the $75 registration fee has been confirmed, you will be able to use your email address and password to access the full program. The program will be published on 3 February 2008 and will only be available after this date.

Jury meeting & Announcement of Award: Late March 2008
Exhibition and Publicity:
The winning entry, honorable mentions and selected short-listed examples will be exhibited in Givens Hall at the Graduate School of Architecture & Urban Design, Washington University in St. Louis in March and April 2008; the winning entry will also be displayed on the Steedman website with jury comments.

Past winners

Washington University

Official Website