UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards 2009

The 2008 Heritage Awards programme, in its ninth year, recognizes the achievement of individuals and organizations within the private sector, and public-private initiatives, in successfully restoring structures of heritage value in the Asia-Pacific region.

Category Award
Type International, Award, Open, Single-Stage
Genre Conservation
Country Asia-Pacific
RegDeadline 31 March 2009 GoogleCal iCal
31 March 2009 (Must be Received)
Eligibility All
Target Field - To be considered for the Awards, the conserved or restored building or buildings must be over 50 years old. - Buildings must be privately owned or leased, and restoration must be the result of private initiative or a public-private partnership. Projects

Projects involving buildings more than fifty years old and which were completed within the last ten years are eligible for consideration. Houses, commercial, cultural, religious, industrial or institutional buildings, gardens and bridges, for example, are all eligible for consideration. Public-private partnership projects such as historic towns, urban quarters and rural settlements where the essential elements are more than 50 years old are all eligible.

In addition to the established awards the “Jury Commendation for Innovation”, introduced in 2005, will also be judged. The commendation recognizes newly-built structures which demonstrate outstanding standards for contemporary architectural design which are well integrated into historic contexts.

The Jury shall be composed of
1 representative from UNESCO, and
6-8 international conservation experts renowned for their knowledge of conservation in the Asia-Pacific Region.

Award of Excellence
Award of Distinction
Award of Merit
Honorable Mention

Entry Fee

Winners announced: September 2008

Past winners


Official Website